Author Topic: ALTERA Nios II Embedded Evaluation Kit - who has tried it?  (Read 7311 times)

Offline TNbTopic starter

• Regular Contributor
ALTERA Nios II Embedded Evaluation Kit - who has tried it?
« on: October 07, 2013, 08:56:18 am »
Hello!
I'm studying in university now and we have couple of Nios II Embedded Evaluation Kit from ALTERA. I was thinking to do some projects with it using FPGA(not just processor programming), but I don't know if it is suitable for me. I mean - the kit itself is not so simple circuit and my VHDL and FPGA knowledge are pretty basic.
So, I just wondering if anyone was doing something with it - is this kit architecture too advanced for newbie project?
I just afraid to be lost in it completely.  :(
Thanks!

Offline Buga

Re: ALTERA Nios II Embedded Evaluation Kit - who has tried it?
« Reply #1 on: October 07, 2013, 07:44:16 pm »
That kit has a huge amount of power in it, and a lot of price in it too.

If you want something similar to what your using in class, but just for the FPGA, I'd recommend something like these:
Altera DE0
Altera DE1
Altera DE2

These have lots of FPGA power available, and come with some peripherals that you can play with and practice your coding with.

The Nios II kit is quite expensive, and extremely powerful. Unless you're intending on practicing making entire soft-core processors and the like, you almost certainly wont use or need that power. Especially for the price.

Their are even cheaper solutions available than the DE boards, but they generally are more barebones, with no extra peripherals to play with, which is where I think a lot of the fun of learning to code FPGAs comes from.

Online Valueduser

• Contributor
  • Put it on air
« Reply #2 on: October 07, 2013, 08:17:02 pm »