Author Topic: ALU in MIPS  (Read 2478 times)

Offline prophossTopic starter

• Contributor
ALU in MIPS
« on: September 07, 2021, 01:18:13 am »
I am still fairly new to all this but have been wanting to get a softcore going. When I finally realized how much was involved I backed off that plan. I have since found some code in VHDL @ https://www.fpga4student.com/2017/09/vhdl-code-for-mips-processor.html that comes with a testbench. The starting point is the ALU. I watched some videos to try and understand what all the ALU does. The basic idea, if I understand it correctly, is that you create op codes for what all you want the ALU to do. In the case of the above it looks like a 3 bit op code that adds, subtracts, AND, OR, with a comparator(?). Should it do more? Could it do more? Is that case statement the best way to go? On the same website there is another ALU with a 4 bit op code by itself that has multiplication, division, left and right shift, and so on as well as the above mentioned functions. I guess I'm kind of wondering why they didn't use the same thing for both? Still learning here and am curious of y'alls opinions. Thanks ahead of time.

Offline rstofer

• Super Contributor
Re: ALU in MIPS
« Reply #1 on: September 07, 2021, 01:50:58 am »
That's a really interesting site, thanks for the link!  The processor, as described, is a very minimal implementation.  It only has 256 words of RAM.  The ALU will do 5 operations out of a maximum of 8.  You could possibly add 3 more if you think of them.  Multiply and divide are candidates but they won't be single cycle instructions.  Multiply can be on some machines but divide is just ugly.