Author Topic: Complete newbie looking for a good practical beginers guide to programming FPGAs  (Read 3719 times)

Offline rstofer

• Super Contributor
When I started using the free version of Xilinx ISE, it didn't include a free simulator.  As a result, I never learned to use one.  Still don't use one.  In the end, I'm building hardware not screen shots and what I build usually runs without too many errors.  My big error is failing to provide a default value for an output of a FSM.  Doing incremental development can lead to this kind of error.

On a larger project, I threaded a 32 bit debug bus through all of the entities.  Generally, the signals were commented out unless I needed to use a logic analyzer on some portion of the system.  With Xilinx's new ILA (Integrated Logic Analyzer), I get the best of both worlds.  I can look at real hardware signals without having to spend time connecting signals to the debug bus.

https://www.xilinx.com/video/hardware/logic-debug-in-vivado.html

Online SiliconWizard

• Super Contributor
Yes simulation is a key tool when doing digital design. Except for the most trivial designs, not doing simulation is crazy. An almost sure way of getting things wrong while wasting a lot of time trying to fix them.

If you're using VHDL, apart from the commercial simulators, GHDL has become very good. That's my main simulator.

Online fourfathom

• Super Contributor
I've been using the free Icarus Verilog simulator for functional simulation.  I had been using the simulator that was part of the Lattice Diamond toolset (which I use for my MACHX FPGA work), but they recently changed the simulator and I haven't bothered to figure out the new setup.
We'll search out every place a sick, twisted, solitary misfit might run to! -- I'll start with Radio Shack.

Online SiliconWizard

• Super Contributor