Electronics > FPGA

Complete newbie looking for a good practical beginers guide to programming FPGAs

(1/7) > >>

Garry G:
Hello, so I recently bought a cheep Altera Intel FPGA Development Board  to just play around with and hopefully learn to do something simple with. The board I have is a QMTEK Cyclone IV SDRAM Starter Kit (Model: EP4CE15F23).
Now I assume this if fairly rubbish, as it was fairly cheep, but as I said I just want something to learn the basics on. I've been a professional programmer for many years, but only ever an armature with electronics. I would say I only know the basics, although I am familiar with Boolean algebra type logic and assembly level programming. So I didn't think I'd be starting completely from nothing!

However, I'm finding this very confusing so far. Probably because my cheep board came with no instructions, unless you count a bit of paper with Chinese on it! I have googled and found many things, most of which appear to contradict each other.
I downloaded the Quartus II (free) version 13 software with what I believe to be the correct driver for my board, but this is a bit bewildering when you have no idea where to start.

I was hoping someone could point me in the direction of some good beginners resources. I'm sure there must be good beginner books written about starting out with FPGAs.

If I can get to grips with this it could be useful in my day job.

Thanks,

dorkshoei:
I was in the same boat as you.  I bought the open source Ice Breaker. 

https://github.com/icebreaker-fpga/icebreaker

NorthGuy:
Programming FPGAs has nothing to do with programming CPUs. You don't write instructions which execute in run-time as you would in assembler or in C. Rather you design the hardware, then you describe it. The tools then implement it and configure FPGA accordingly. You also can write test-benches which simulate your code to make sure the hardware you described works as you expected.

There are two routes you can go.