Author Topic: Complete newbie looking for a good practical beginers guide to programming FPGAs  (Read 3720 times)

Offline Garry GTopic starter

Hello, so I recently bought a cheep Altera Intel FPGA Development Board  to just play around with and hopefully learn to do something simple with. The board I have is a QMTEK Cyclone IV SDRAM Starter Kit (Model: EP4CE15F23).
Now I assume this if fairly rubbish, as it was fairly cheep, but as I said I just want something to learn the basics on. I've been a professional programmer for many years, but only ever an armature with electronics. I would say I only know the basics, although I am familiar with Boolean algebra type logic and assembly level programming. So I didn't think I'd be starting completely from nothing!

However, I'm finding this very confusing so far. Probably because my cheep board came with no instructions, unless you count a bit of paper with Chinese on it! I have googled and found many things, most of which appear to contradict each other.
I downloaded the Quartus II (free) version 13 software with what I believe to be the correct driver for my board, but this is a bit bewildering when you have no idea where to start.

I was hoping someone could point me in the direction of some good beginners resources. I'm sure there must be good beginner books written about starting out with FPGAs.

If I can get to grips with this it could be useful in my day job.

Thanks,

Offline dorkshoei

• Frequent Contributor
I was in the same boat as you.  I bought the open source Ice Breaker. 

https://github.com/icebreaker-fpga/icebreaker

Offline NorthGuy

• Super Contributor