Electronics > FPGA

Enpirion/altera switching regulator problems

(1/6) > >>

motocoder:
Anyone here have any experience with Enpirion (now Altera) switch mode regulators? We are using a number of them to generate the power supply rails for a board with an FPGA and DRAM on it. One of them an ER2120QI used to generate the 2.5v rail, is occasionally not coming up.

When it fails, it will either not come up at all, or come up well below the target voltage, or do other weird things like generate a sawtooth waveform on the PG (Power Good) pin!

I have no experience with these parts (wasn't my choice to use them), so am hoping someone here can shed some light or offer some theories.

Thanks

PeteH:
I've used the embedded inductor variants of this part.

Your exact usage would be needed to diagnose this. What inductor are you using? What is the expected 2.5v current/inrush? What is the total capacitance on this rail?

Add all DDR2 termination currents?

Are you capacitively loading the PG pin? Open drain outputs shouldn't have a triangle wave.... Unless of course, AVINO is in OC or slewing down. Do you have the right decoupling on AVINO and the filter to AVIN?

motocoder:

--- Quote from: PeteH on August 17, 2014, 11:25:07 am ---I've used the embedded inductor variants of this part.

Your exact usage would be needed to diagnose this. What inductor are you using? What is the expected 2.5v current/inrush? What is the total capacitance on this rail?

Add all DDR2 termination currents?

Are you capacitively loading the PG pin? Open drain outputs shouldn't have a triangle wave.... Unless of course, AVINO is in OC or slewing down. Do you have the right decoupling on AVINO and the filter to AVIN?

--- End quote ---

Hi PeteH -

* The inductor is 3.3 uH, part number PCMC063T-3R3MN
* This rail is expected to source about 1.7A.
* Total capacitance on this rail is approximately 40uF (4 x 10uF in parallel).
* This rail is not related to DDR. It is one of the power rails for the FPGA.