Author Topic: First FPGA project. Looking for advice  (Read 5669 times)

Offline hermitengineerTopic starter

• Regular Contributor
First FPGA project. Looking for advice
« on: May 14, 2021, 03:50:10 am »
This is my first time designing for an FPGA, and learning Verilog from zero.  So I'd appreciate any constructive criticism on coding, style, etc.  I developed the code in Vivado and simulated and synthesized it for an XC7S6 series chip to verify that it acts as it is supposed to.  It works (virtually) but uses maybe 5% of the chip's resources.

Second, this is a project to duplicate the functionality of a 40-pin DIP designed in the late 70's by General Instruments for an ancient game system.  As such, the board should also be about 40-pin DIP sized.  So, I'd also appreciate suggestions for an FPGA to use, along with the level shifters, voltage regulator(s), and flash memory.  Obviously, size would be the biggest issue.

Thanks

Offline asmi

• Super Contributor
Re: First FPGA project. Looking for advice
« Reply #1 on: May 14, 2021, 04:50:36 am »
You might want to take a look at Digilent's CMOD boards: CMOD A7 or CMOD S7. They have DIP-48 size, so not sure if it's going to be OK.

If you want to design your own, making it so small is going to be a challenge. The smallest package for S7 is 8x8 mm, but it's 0.5 mm ball pitch, so you will need to use advanced PCB tech. If you prefer to use more conventional tech, you can take a look at A7's CPG236/238 package (it's 0.5 mm pitch too, but the pinout is such that it's possible to route it using conventional PCB process) - it's 10x10 mm. The smallest "conventional PCB-friendly" S7 package is CSGA225, but at 13x13 mm it's probably a tad too close to the your size limits (assuming 0.7 inch or 17.8 mm for the PCB width). It could be doable though.