Author Topic: FPGA Algorithm Projects  (Read 2114 times)

Offline LeoTechTopic starter

• Regular Contributor
  • High School student with a passion for electronics
FPGA Algorithm Projects
« on: June 18, 2019, 01:06:31 pm »
Hello member(s),

In short: I'm looking for a couple of project ideas involving algorithms on FPGAs, any ideas?

My experience with FPGAs and HDLs in general is more or less limited - besides a few simple 'hallo world' projects - to implementing the SAP1 and SAP2 CPU architecture, my own custom 'from-scratch' CPU design and an implementation of Booths Algorithm. I have a Cyclone V development board and have done all of my projects in verilog. I wouldn't say that I'm an expert in verilog, but I'm more or less fluent - I don't really have to Google anymore.

During my summer break, besides enjoying the weather, relaxing and travelling, my plan is to design a new and improved CPU from scratch and 'build' it in verilog. Before I do that however, I want to complete a couple more projects concerning algorithms.

I'm looking for algorithms that are rather simpel, like Booths Algorithm, that I can implement in verilog and preferably use in my further CPU designs as well - hardware acceleration type of things.

Any advice and/or ideas?

(Btw, as far as my math knowledge goes, I am only in High School, meaning that some algorithms that I have tried my hands on failed, because I didn't understand the math completely and therefore didn't really know how to implement them - just a heads up)

Leo
High School student with a passion and interest in electronics, both analog and digital!

Offline tggzzz

• Super Contributor
  • Numbers, not adjectives
    • Having fun doing more, with less
Re: FPGA Algorithm Projects
« Reply #1 on: June 18, 2019, 01:33:08 pm »
My suggestion is to get as far away from software and processors as possible, since FPGAs are useful for far more than that.