Author Topic: FPGA SD controller issues - Cross Domain Clock issue?  (Read 1391 times)

Offline lintweakerTopic starter

• Contributor
FPGA SD controller issues - Cross Domain Clock issue?
« on: May 31, 2020, 11:03:57 am »
FPGA novice here. I've build a PCB to use the Waveshare CoreEP4CE10 FPGA board with my DIY Z80 based computer and (try to) build some nice 'hw' for it.
Basic stuff like a free running timer, UART all work great but I am having trouble getting the SD controller (SPI mode) to work properly.

I re-used this VHDL SD Controller:
https://github.com/douggilliland/MultiComp/blob/master/MultiComp_On_RETRO-EP4/Multicomp-MPM/Components/SDCARD%20()/sd_controller_High_Speed.vhd

Issues I encounter:
- reading a sector from SD is not reliable, the data is only partially correct
- somehow it want's me to read more then 512 bytes
- Writing only succeeds for a few bytes

The Z80 side of things runs at a mere 3.58MHz while the FPGA runs at 50MHz. Could these issues be related to cross domain clock issues?

BTW The DIY Z80 board talks to the Waveshare board via bi-directional level converters (TI SN74LVC8T245DWR)

Offline rstofer

• Super Contributor
Re: FPGA SD controller issues - Cross Domain Clock issue?
« Reply #1 on: May 31, 2020, 02:18:31 pm »
I know nothing about the project but that is some pretty nice code for the SD controller.  Very clean!

I didn't find a schematic but I wonder if all of the required pull-up resistors are in place.  Floating signals might not be helpful.  Maybe this will help:

https://www.mouser.com/catalog/specsheets/an10911.pdf

Sheet 2 lower right corner in this schematic:

https://reference.digilentinc.com/_media/reference/programmable-logic/nexys-a7/nexys-a7-sch.pdf

• Contributor
« Reply #2 on: May 31, 2020, 02:42:55 pm »
Thanks for the comments on the code but that is not my code  :) Also thanks for the schematics.