Author Topic: FTDI based Xilinx programmer supported by ISE  (Read 22479 times)

Offline ali_asadzadehTopic starter

• Super Contributor
FTDI based Xilinx programmer supported by ISE
« on: August 07, 2015, 01:45:29 pm »
Hi,
Please see this JTAG HS3 Programming Cable from digilnet
http://digilentinc.com/Products/Detail.cfm?NavPath=2,395,1298&Prod=JTAG-HS3

I'm sure they have used FT2232 chip for making this happen, I want to know what are the contents of the attached SPI flash to the FTDI chip, so we could have a cheap way of USB programmer that Xilinx software will support it.
ASiDesigner, Stands for Application specific intelligent devices
I'm a Digital Expert from 8-bits to 64-bits

Offline Bassman59

• Super Contributor
  • Yes, I do this for a living
Re: FTDI based Xilinx programmer supported by ISE
« Reply #1 on: August 07, 2015, 05:45:19 pm »
Hi,
Please see this JTAG HS3 Programming Cable from digilnet
http://digilentinc.com/Products/Detail.cfm?NavPath=2,395,1298&Prod=JTAG-HS3

I'm sure they have used FT2232 chip for making this happen, I want to know what are the contents of the attached SPI flash to the FTDI chip, so we could have a cheap way of USB programmer that Xilinx software will support it.

According to THAT VERY PAGE TO WHICH YOU LINKED, "It can be attached to target boards using Xilinx’s 2x7 connector*, and is compatible with all Xilinx tools, including iMPACT, Chipscope, and EDK."

So you don't really need to know what sort of chip they used in the thing, nor the contents of its flash, because it works with the Xilinx software.

Offline andersm

• Super Contributor
« Reply #2 on: August 07, 2015, 07:25:05 pm »
So you don't really need to know what sort of chip they used in the thing, nor the contents of its flash, because it works with the Xilinx software.
I think he was asking about how to clone the cable.

• Super Contributor
« Reply #3 on: August 08, 2015, 05:29:47 am »