Author Topic: Generating a 600KHz clock with 10ps Jitter  (Read 8010 times)

Offline ali_asadzadehTopic starter

• Super Contributor
Generating a 600KHz clock with 10ps Jitter
« on: November 11, 2019, 03:29:47 pm »
Hi,
I have used AD9517-3 in a ZYNQ project before, Now I have a new project, which I need to sample a low speed ADC with 600KHz sample clock, but the problem is that, my customer needs a maximum 10ps jitter sample clock. I told them I will use AD9517 with the fs jitter, But I will divide the generated clock inside the FPGA to achieve the low speed clock with low jitter. But they told me they had a problem with this Technic and spartan 6 before, the Flip-flops inside the FPGA and in the last stage will determine the over all jitter, and they would add so much jitter (in the range of 100-200ps) to the generated clock. so do we have a way of creating a low speed clock with low jitter?
ASiDesigner, Stands for Application specific intelligent devices
I'm a Digital Expert from 8-bits to 64-bits

Online Kleinstein

• Super Contributor
Re: Generating a 600KHz clock with 10ps Jitter
« Reply #1 on: November 11, 2019, 04:12:57 pm »
One could add an additional external sync stage outside the FPGA, so another last flip-flop with a suitable low jitter clock (before the divider / PLL). It depends on the clock if this is possible.

Offline ejeffrey

• Super Contributor
« Reply #2 on: November 11, 2019, 09:06:26 pm »
Yeah, running through an FPGA will definitely introduce jitter.  How much depends on exactly how you do it and which pins and IO standard you use.  Furthermore, there will be a static propagation delay that depends on the compilation, so if you need the timing to be constant even under updated bitstreams that adds another level of problem.

If you need to use the FPGA to produce the clock for some reason you can use an external D flip flop clocked by your high speed clock to generate a low jitter version.  Alternately just use a discrete clock divider.