Author Topic: ModelSim "soft pathnames" and MGC_LOCATION_MAP  (Read 2084 times)

Offline Bassman59Topic starter

• Super Contributor
  • Yes, I do this for a living
ModelSim "soft pathnames" and MGC_LOCATION_MAP
« on: January 28, 2022, 04:06:05 pm »
Has anyone ever used this feature on Windows?

I'm working from home for a bit and all of my ModelSim projects are broken because they have hard absolute paths.

The project setting "Location map -- convert pathnames to softnames" requires an environment variable MGC_LOCATION_MAP, but there's no useful documentation from Mentor about how to set this.

Ideally, of course, the map would be to a location relative to the project file's directory. That is, given a tree:

project root \
             \src
             \tb
             \fitter

and the ModelSim project file lives in tb.

Ideally, the path to the sources would be ..\src and the path to test benches would be in ..\tb which is referencing tb but that's OK.

• Super Contributor
Re: ModelSim "soft pathnames" and MGC_LOCATION_MAP
« Reply #1 on: January 28, 2022, 04:21:36 pm »
replying to myself:

This feature is stupid.

If you do NOT check the "convert pathnames to softnames" box, then your MPF can have relative paths that will not get converted to an absolute path. The environment variable doesn't matter.

The problem is that when you add files to the project, they are added with an absolute path, so you have to go in and manually edit the MPF to change the paths to relative.

I guess the design decisions they made back in 1990 or whenever are still paying dividends!

Offline Daixiwen

• Frequent Contributor
« Reply #2 on: January 31, 2022, 09:11:12 am »