Author Topic: Net "clk50" not found - only after adding extra "process" block (VHDL, Xilinx)  (Read 3353 times)

Offline tom66Topic starter

• Super Contributor
  • Electronics Hobbyist & FPGA/Embedded Systems EE
I'm a complete newb to FPGA VHDL, but decided to start playing with it... Was able to get a basic clock working (from example code, with a few modifications) but am having trouble with a new program.

I'm having an issue. I'm using Xilinx ISE 13.1, and getting this error in stage "implement design":
Code: [Select]
ERROR:ConstraintSystem:59 - Constraint <NET "clk50" PERIOD = 50 MHz;>
   [clock.ucf(1)]: NET "clk50" not found.  Please verify that:
   1. The specified design element actually exists in the original design.
   2. The specified object is spelled correctly in the constraint source file.

Here is my VHDL: http://pastebin.com/JR6ZGw8i

If I comment out this line in the 2nd process:
Code: [Select]
led_ser_out1 <= led_base_clock ;
and drive it directly from the currently non-functional process block with logic '0', I get the error. Otherwise, the code will work ok and generate a 2.5MHz square wave on the output 'led_ser_out1'.

I can't see what would be causing this error? It doesn't directly involve the signal at all.

I'm only using 3% of the floorspace on my XC3S200 FPGA (on a Spartan-3 Starter Kit board) so it's not like I'm running out of space any time soon.
« Last Edit: February 14, 2015, 01:09:28 am by tom66 »

Offline oohal