Author Topic: PALCE Chips  (Read 3729 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline Homer79Topic starter

  • Newbie
  • Posts: 4
  • Country: gb
PALCE Chips
« on: November 06, 2023, 08:15:31 pm »
Hi,

I usually just use GAL's and write in wincupl. For what I use them for
they work fine. PALCE chips, I've found an affordable programmer, the
TOP 3000 that can write to them. However, I am not sure if I can continue
to use wincupl or if I need to learn how to use PALASM.
Anyone know programming language works with what chips?

regards

 

Online mikeselectricstuff

  • Super Contributor
  • ***
  • Posts: 13808
  • Country: gb
    • Mike's Electric Stuff
Re: PALCE Chips
« Reply #1 on: November 06, 2023, 08:52:48 pm »
As I recall, PALCE chips were functionally the same as their GAL equivalents. I think the jedec files are compatible

I'm 99% sure I used PALCE chips at some point, and if so I would definitely have used CUPL/WINCUPL
Youtube channel:Taking wierd stuff apart. Very apart.
Mike's Electric Stuff: High voltage, vintage electronics etc.
Day Job: Mostly LEDs
 

Offline PCB.Wiz

  • Super Contributor
  • ***
  • Posts: 1618
  • Country: au
Re: PALCE Chips
« Reply #2 on: November 07, 2023, 04:23:51 am »
Hi,

I usually just use GAL's and write in wincupl. For what I use them for
they work fine. PALCE chips, I've found an affordable programmer, the
TOP 3000 that can write to them. However, I am not sure if I can continue
to use wincupl or if I need to learn how to use PALASM.

Some part numbers would help.

WinCUPL supports the mainstream 16V8 / 22v10, which covers most parts up to 10 macrocells. WinCUPL runs fine here in Win100 in command line mode.

Then, you have ATF750, with 20 macrocells, and ATF2500 and ATF1502/4/8 parts.
The ATF1502/4/8 use JTAG ISP, so are easier to use, and most users 'skip over' the ATF750 & ATF2500, which have more sparse programmer support.
ATF750 is useful if you have an existing 22V10 footprint that needs a bit more logic packed in.
 

Offline Homer79Topic starter

  • Newbie
  • Posts: 4
  • Country: gb
Re: PALCE Chips
« Reply #3 on: November 07, 2023, 01:21:31 pm »
It's a whole series of chips. I've managed to get hold of the software for the top
Programmer from 2022, but to get the 2023 edition you need to register on a Chinese
Website.

https://pdf1.alldatasheet.com/datasheet-pdf/view/70216/LATTICE/PALCE22V10.html
 

Offline PCB.Wiz

  • Super Contributor
  • ***
  • Posts: 1618
  • Country: au
Re: PALCE Chips
« Reply #4 on: November 07, 2023, 11:14:29 pm »
It's a whole series of chips. I've managed to get hold of the software for the top
Programmer from 2022, but to get the 2023 edition you need to register on a Chinese
Website.

https://pdf1.alldatasheet.com/datasheet-pdf/view/70216/LATTICE/PALCE22V10.html

The 22V10 all have the same logic fuses, some have an extra optional 64 bits of user signature, and some Atmel parts have a power down bit.

Atmel's CUPL info says this

Table 10-1. Compiler Mode Selection
PAL Mode   (5828 Fuses)      GAL Mode    (5892 Fuses)    Power-down Mode(1) (5893 Fuses)
WINCUPL    P22V10 P22V10LCC  G22V10 G22V10LCC            G22V10CP    G22V10CPLCC
 

Offline Homer79Topic starter

  • Newbie
  • Posts: 4
  • Country: gb
Re: PALCE Chips
« Reply #5 on: November 08, 2023, 11:32:19 pm »
https://pan.baidu.com/s/1hqJdtpq

I've found where they distribute the latest version of the software for the TOP programmers
but I'm having issues registering to download it. I've got V9.07, but thats a year old

#PLD-AMD
PLD AMD PALCE16V8H-10/4 ,PALCE16V8 1 ,vcc=5000
PLD AMD PALCE16V8H-15   ,PALCE16V8 1 ,vcc=5000
PLD AMD PALCE20V8H-10   ,PALCE20V8 1 ,vcc=5000
PLD AMD PALCE22V10H-25 ,PALCE22V10 1 ,vcc=5000,vp1=10500,vp2=13000
 

Offline wraper

  • Supporter
  • ****
  • Posts: 17093
  • Country: lv
Re: PALCE Chips
« Reply #6 on: November 08, 2023, 11:43:29 pm »
PALCE are backwards compatible to GAL except programming. I used PALCE16V8 as replacement of multiple GAL for repair just fine.
 

Offline PCB.Wiz

  • Super Contributor
  • ***
  • Posts: 1618
  • Country: au
Re: PALCE Chips
« Reply #7 on: November 09, 2023, 06:13:40 am »
The age of recent releases is unlikely to matter for those old chips, as they are very mature.   8)
 

Offline Beta_vulgaris

  • Regular Contributor
  • *
  • Posts: 68
  • Country: 00
Re: PALCE Chips
« Reply #8 on: November 09, 2023, 07:40:40 am »
PALCE16V8 EDIT MODE:
Pin 1       CLK
Pin 2       SDIN
Pin 3       HV1 VPP 9V25
Pins 4-7    Mode
                            4  5  6  7
   Bulk Erase               L  L  L  L
   Input Line Addressing    H  L  L  L
   Product Term Addressing  L  H  L  L
   Program                  H  H  L  L
   Verify                   L  L  H  L
Pin 8       HV2 PGM
Pin 9       PC5 #OE
Pin 10      GND
Pin 11      PC7
Pins 12-19  I/O Pins: Output 12 MSB -> LSB 19
Pin 20      VCC 5V0

From https://marc.info/?l=classiccmp&m=135672851823477.
Electronics, Geospatial, Aerospace
Programmable Logic Devices (PLD) Programming Algorithm Preservation
 
The following users thanked this post: oPossum

Offline iMo

  • Super Contributor
  • ***
  • Posts: 4882
  • Country: vc
Re: PALCE Chips
« Reply #9 on: November 10, 2023, 01:01:37 pm »
FYI- out of curiosity I've just downloaded the WinCupl off the mchp site (win10) and run several examples (in win gui). All works fine so far..
 

Offline Homer79Topic starter

  • Newbie
  • Posts: 4
  • Country: gb
Re: PALCE Chips
« Reply #10 on: November 23, 2023, 08:45:33 am »
Here is a download link for the latest Topall8 software, it covers the 2013, 3000, 3100 versions.
The 2013 version, which is pretty cheap on AliExpress, can program most of the more common PALCE chips,

https://drive.google.com/drive/u/0/mobile/folders/1DL1aJPB9PLxjamTzVWV3EA6_d6abIz7W?usp=drive_link
 


Share me

Digg  Facebook  SlashDot  Delicious  Technorati  Twitter  Google  Yahoo
Smf