Author Topic: Replicating a 'custom' 6800 in FPGA  (Read 9669 times)

Offline dmendesf

• Frequent Contributor
Re: Replicating a 'custom' 6800 in FPGA
« Reply #25 on: September 12, 2021, 07:27:42 pm »
Not only register memories... Sometimes dynamic logic was also used as a mean to use less area:

https://en.m.wikipedia.org/wiki/Dynamic_logic_(digital_electronics)

The following users thanked this post: james_s

Online SiliconWizard

• Super Contributor
« Reply #26 on: September 12, 2021, 09:33:34 pm »
Not only register memories... Sometimes dynamic logic was also used as a mean to use less area:

https://en.m.wikipedia.org/wiki/Dynamic_logic_(digital_electronics)

Yes, I was going to answer this just before I saw your post!
Jeri had a video about this:

Offline TK

• Super Contributor
  • I am a Systems Analyst who plays with Electronics
« Reply #27 on: September 13, 2021, 12:53:28 am »
NMOS 6502 can do single stepping while the clock runs at full speed. Woz published a circuit to make it possible by using SYNC and RDY signals, and a couple of FFs and switches

Online brucehoult

• Super Contributor

The following users thanked this post: james_s

Offline metertech58761Topic starter

• Regular Contributor
« Reply #29 on: September 14, 2021, 12:36:54 pm »
Just stopping in to drop off a copy of the schematic of my project as it stands now.

Sorry if the sections are a bit too modularized. That was a byproduct of having to change many subsections to address safety and general availability of parts.

Hopefully the comments I added to show what's what helps.

Offline joeqsmith

• Super Contributor
« Reply #30 on: September 15, 2021, 04:42:25 pm »
Do you have the source code, or planning to copy the PROMs from a working system?

Offline BrianHG

• Super Contributor
« Reply #31 on: September 15, 2021, 11:22:06 pm »
Just stopping in to drop off a copy of the schematic of my project as it stands now.