Author Topic: FPGA for DRAM based memory expansion  (Read 1138 times)

Offline VivisTopic starter

• Contributor
FPGA for DRAM based memory expansion
« on: June 18, 2021, 08:23:12 pm »
Total novice when it comes to FPGA's, but i've got a design idea and think it would be possible. I happen to have some FPGA's on the way for another project (in circuit emulator) so now is a great time to try it out.

I have a device from the late 80's that takes a proprietary ram expansion. I have the original expansion that is 512kb but they are capable of being larger. The company that made this device had an expansion board that was 1.5mb and 3rd party companies made even larger ones.

The expansion board is relatively simple looking with 2 74 series chips and 13 256kx1 dram chips (plus a few caps and resistors). Taking a look at the schematics for the original device, the expansion looks pretty close to the layout of the built in memory. Looks like the only difference is it uses CAS1 instead of CAS signal for column strobe.

I was wondering if this would be worth pursuing using an FPGA. I cannot copy the original design easily due to the package the dram chips are in (dual pin but all on one side. Kind of a standing dip.) as the new replacements are standard dips and would take up far too much space. I'd like the design to be a bit more modern regardless. I know they made 3.5mb expanders for this device, and I'd rather not try to figure out how they crammed so many of those not so common chips in there.