Author Topic: Uninitialized reg in simulation vs. synthesis  (Read 6414 times)

Offline hinxxTopic starter

• Contributor
Uninitialized reg in simulation vs. synthesis
« on: August 06, 2020, 10:18:17 am »
Complete n00b in Verilog asking a question here, so bear with me please. I have no prior experience in FPGAs/Verilog/VHDL, I do in C, though.

I'm playing around with a FPGA board from Olimex, https://www.olimex.com/Products/FPGA/iCE40/, and have managed to put the blinking LEDs demo into the board ; and they blink :).

I'm trying to understand the demo code as seen here https://github.com/OLIMEX/iCE40HX1K-EVB/blob/master/demo/ice40hx1k-evb/example.v.

For example, how the uninitialized reg:

Code: [Select]
reg [14:0] cntr;

is never assigned a value of 15'b0, yet it is incremented in the always block:

Code: [Select]
cntr <= cntr + 15'd1;

and appears to be starting from 0?!  :-//

When I try to use iverilog and vvp to simulate the design the cntr is left at 15'bx, while on the hardware cntr clearly seems to take on a specific value at the start. I assume this value is 15'b0. Is this correct? Where does it come from? I assume this is done during the synthesis process, but fail to pin point down in which part.

Information I managed to get so far is that in synthesis "x is ignored", at least the assignment (with some exceptions); have not found the answer about the initial value though, if not initialized explicitly. Is there a better explanation to get from somewhere? I would also be interested in a list of differences between the simulation and synthesis of the Verilog models (i.e. what can and can not be done in one vs the other).

Online tggzzz

• Super Contributor
  • Numbers, not adjectives
    • Having fun doing more, with less
Re: Uninitialized reg in simulation vs. synthesis
« Reply #1 on: August 06, 2020, 11:44:36 am »
Since I don't know the toolset and hardware you are using, this is a generic answer.