Author Topic: Values of signals AT the rising/falling edge  (Read 3059 times)

Offline TheGreatNedTopic starter

• Contributor
Values of signals AT the rising/falling edge
« on: May 15, 2020, 12:00:41 am »
Hi,

My verilog, $display and EPWave are all disagreeing about the value of a signal at it's rising edge.

I'm a noob I guess :(  What is the rule of thumb for signals sampled exactly at their rising/falling edge? Do the sampled signals take the 'last' value or 'new'????

Code is very simple:

Code: [Select]
initial begin
      $dumpfile("dump.vcd");
      $dumpvars;

#5;
      rst = 0;
      a<=1;

rst = 1;
      a<=0;

a<=1;

$display("time:%tns, a:%d, clk:%d, f:%d", $time, a, vif.clk, f);

#20;
      $finish;
end

VCS gives:
time:90ns, a:0, clk:0, f:z

As you can see, VCS and $display are disagreeing. Why?

Thank you!!!!!

Online ataradov

• Super Contributor
    • Personal site
Re: Values of signals AT the rising/falling edge
« Reply #1 on: May 15, 2020, 12:22:34 am »
What happens if you change the last assignment to a blocking one ("a=1;")?

I'm not sure if evaluation rules apply to things like  $display(), but if they are, then  $display() is correct.

Although for any sort of practical situations it does not matter. This will lead to meta-stability issues.
Alex

• Contributor
« Reply #2 on: May 15, 2020, 04:51:04 am »
Last assignment changed to 'a=1':
time:90ns, a:1, clk:0, f:z

So a=1 correctly blocks $display, but the other values surprisingly were unaffected

Online ataradov

• Super Contributor
    • Personal site
« Reply #3 on: May 15, 2020, 04:56:29 am »
What other values?

Blocking assignment becomes a "synchronization point". All non-blocking assignments are executed in parallel.

In your first case assignment and $display() executed at the same time, making both use the original value of 'a'. The assignment obviously did not care what the value of 'a' is, but $display() did.
Alex

• Contributor
« Reply #4 on: May 16, 2020, 12:07:51 pm »