Author Topic: Very small linux capable core  (Read 9125 times)

Offline ali_asadzadehTopic starter

• Super Contributor
Very small linux capable core
« on: July 25, 2021, 01:48:57 pm »
Hi,
This could be my first time going for a linux on a soft-core, I want to know if we have open source cores capable of running minimal linux, I have about 10-12K of LUT left on my device, and it's a Gowin part.

Do you recommend any thing? is it possible on 10K LUTs?
ASiDesigner, Stands for Application specific intelligent devices
I'm a Digital Expert from 8-bits to 64-bits

Offline brucehoult

• Super Contributor
Re: Very small linux capable core
« Reply #1 on: July 25, 2021, 01:56:04 pm »
Sure.

VexRiscv linux balanced (RV32IMA, 1.21 DMIPS/Mhz 2.27 Coremark/Mhz, with cache trashing, 4KB-I$, 4KB-D$, single cycle barrel shifter, catch exceptions, static branch, MMU, Supervisor, Compatible with mainstream linux) ->
    Artix 7     -> 180 Mhz 2883 LUT 2130 FF
    Cyclone V   -> 131 Mhz 1,764 ALMs
    Cyclone IV  -> 121 Mhz 3,608 LUT 2,082 FF

https://github.com/SpinalHDL/VexRiscv

The following users thanked this post: ali_asadzadeh

• Super Contributor
« Reply #2 on: July 25, 2021, 01:59:27 pm »
Thanks for the info, :-+
It's in scala :'( do you recommend anything Verilog or system verilog at least! or do you recommend any good tutorial about scala?
How long does it take to learn scala, since I can do a moderate job on verilog and system verilog.

Online SiliconWizard

• Super Contributor
« Reply #3 on: July 25, 2021, 04:10:12 pm »
Thanks for the info, :-+
It's in scala :'( do you recommend anything Verilog or system verilog at least! or do you recommend any good tutorial about scala?

It uses SpinalHDL. It's based on Scala so sure, you'll need to learn Scala. And then you can go there: https://spinalhdl.github.io/SpinalDoc-RTD/