Author Topic: Video pass-through Xilinx based device, general thoughts/queries  (Read 2834 times)

Offline SilenosTopic starter

• Regular Contributor
  • Fumbling in ignorance
I'm being "seduced" with an assignment: device which does pass-through real time processing of up to 4K 60fps video stream, among other things. I would like to ask more experienced people for advice.
And I'm researching how doable it is in Artix/low Kintex zone and whether should I try it or incontinently engage contingency bailout protocol due to avalanching costs and complexity.  :scared:

I had some experience with Altera devices sth like 9 years ago, so I do not consider myself a total noob; I just dind't follow FPGA world for +7 years at all, and I'm not really familiar with current hardware capabilities; started to catch up recently. I also did some offline CV work.

I have already found out that 4k60fps is... non-trivial. So I prolly should stick to max 1080p 60fps full rbg or sth and enjoy implementing the system with actual margins as well as relearning the wolkflow.
I consider two boards:
- Nexys Video (top Artix 7)
- Genesys 2 (some "-2" Kintex 7)
Seems both boards can handle 1080/60 over "HDMI". Still prefer Genesys2. Worth it?

Some details on project: the processing involves a bunch of different series and parallel pixel-by-pixel algorithms, convolutions, compositing, and a lot of other DSP spewed all over. Propably some frame buffering would be needed too for certain bursty stuff. But I really want to avoid buffering the entire stream in external memory, I expect it to be a choke, am I right? No stream audio processing, no external frame syncing.
I'm developing the DSP and demos with opencv, with offline video, with mind of it being as FPGA friendly as possible. The thing would be fed by graphic card and/or pricey cameras (yes, two sinks, one source).

Now I have some general FPGA/video questions:
1. How should I handle syncing multiple parallel pipelines? Example: