Author Topic: Virtex-5 development board  (Read 2045 times)

Offline promachTopic starter

• Frequent Contributor
Virtex-5 development board
« on: June 30, 2021, 04:09:20 am »
May I know who have info/resources on this Virtex-5 development board ?

Offline Bassman59

• Super Contributor
  • Yes, I do this for a living
Re: Virtex-5 development board
« Reply #1 on: June 30, 2021, 09:10:19 pm »
I don't think that's a development board.

The Finisar SFP modules are for Fibre Channel, so my guess is you have a PCIe board which presents a Fibre Channel interface to the world.

Offline Mario87

• Regular Contributor
« Reply #2 on: July 01, 2021, 10:17:27 am »
Bassman59 appears to be right on the money. Quick google of the number on the end of the PCB brought up this...

https://www.ebay.com/i/283975763103?chn=ps&mkevt=1&mkcid=28

Looks like it's from a DELL PC, not a dev board. When you google "Dell C7PJG" from that listing you get a whole host of websites. Costs £110 from here https://harddiskdirect.com/c7pjg-dell-controllers-other.html

Lots of people seem to be asking if they can use this card for bitcoin mining on reddit and other forums also. It's not a dev board however.

Online SiliconWizard

• Super Contributor
« Reply #3 on: July 01, 2021, 05:33:20 pm »
Yep, well we can tell from the connectors that it's fiber stuff. And, at this price... it would be a nice bargain for a dev board. Although, the Virtex-5 is already old tech. (Note that I don't think it's supported in Vivado, so you'd need Xilinx ISE.)

That said, reverse-engineering it is probably possible. And, we can see a JTAG header.

• Frequent Contributor
« Reply #4 on: July 04, 2021, 11:37:19 am »
Although, the Virtex-5 is already old tech.

True, these Arria 10 or Stratix V boards might be better hardware choices.

Online SiliconWizard

• Super Contributor
« Reply #5 on: July 04, 2021, 05:12:55 pm »