Author Topic: work around VHDL's lack of a preprocessor  (Read 6032 times)

Offline Bassman59Topic starter

• Super Contributor
  • Yes, I do this for a living
work around VHDL's lack of a preprocessor
« on: September 23, 2021, 12:04:21 am »
In all of my years doing VHDL I've never needed a preprocessor. Until now.

I am working on a command parser that is meant to be used on a number of design variants. For the most part, the commands set (and get) parameters. Each variant implements most of the commands, but there are a handful of things used by one variant which don't exist in the others. The command space is 256 possible entries, of which most are not implemented.

Something higher up provides a command token along with an argument. After parsing the command, a response is sent to the higher up.

All of the various parameters are wrapped up into a nice record type. This makes the entity's port list manageable, and it also makes it straightforward to have variant-specific parameter lists: just define the record type with the parameters needed. There is no need to change the parser entity port list.

The command parser boils down to a big case statement, with the command token as the selector. Any commands not implemented fall through the "when others" and the response to higher up indicates "not implemented."

Here's the rub. Like I said, each variant has some special commands which don't exist in the other variants. It Would Be Nice if there was a C-style pre-processor which can exclude certain lines from analysis. VHDL-2008 does not have such a feature. (The good news is that it has been added to VHDL-2019, but I expect to be well into retirement by the time the tools support it.)

Is there a "good" way of excluding, at compile time, individual "when" entries in the case statement? The reason is that if a parameter is not defined for a variant, then it's not in the record type and you can't have it appear at all in the "when" section. Some code:

Code: [Select]