Author Topic: Xilinx: interface microblaze to hard IP  (Read 839 times)

Offline uncleBoTopic starter

Xilinx: interface microblaze to hard IP
« on: April 18, 2023, 02:35:32 pm »
Hi Everybody! I am a total beginner with FPGA and here is my problem:
I designed an SoC in hardware, something like this: UART->parser->decoder->FIFO->MY_IP
MY_IP is taking data from FIFO and doing something until run_en is ON and FIFO is drained
  Port (
  clk : in std_logic;
  run_en : in std_logic := '0';   -- asynchronous start
  data : in std_logic_vector (39 downto 0);  -- FIFO data
  data_empty : in STD_LOGIC;                   -- FIFO empty
  next_data : out STD_LOGIC := '0';           -- FIFO pop
   );

Now I want to migrate to soft definition of UART->[Microblaze: parser->decoder]->
So online video taught me how to start with Microblaze - it reads from UART etc.

Question what would be the proper implementation of interface between Microblaze and MY_IP ? Do I need AXI based FIFO ? Any advice/example of where to start ! Thanks.

Offline asmi

• Super Contributor
Re: Xilinx: interface microblaze to hard IP
« Reply #1 on: April 18, 2023, 03:09:54 pm »
I would implement an AXI4-Lite slave interface with a "virtual" register such that the write to it would push that data item into a FIFO. The rest of your system would stay the same - unless you also want to control start/stop of your IP with a Microblaze as well - in that case you will need to implement another register which would start/stop your IP.

One problem is that Microblaze is going to work with 32 bit values, while your data items are 40 bits long, in this case you will need to either implement a pair of "virtual" data registers and rely on MCU following certain protocol (say write MSW first, then write LSW, which would trigger adding the whole thing into a FIFO), or do both writes into the same "virtual" register.