Author Topic: Xilinx project no longer generating good binary - what have I done wrong?  (Read 1645 times)

Offline migryTopic starter

• Regular Contributor
Just FYI, I have been playing with both Xilinx and Altera FPGAs for 3 or 4 years now. I have a new PC and re-installed my old FPGA folder on it. Have done work recently with Altera parts, so haven't run the Xilinx software on this PC.

I have a cheap Chinese LED controller board (RV901T). It is based on the Spartan 6 (XC6SLX16) and can be re-purposed as a dev board. A few years ago I wrote my own SUMP logic analyser software to run on this board. I programmed with a genuine Xilinx programmer. It's still wired up to an old breadboarded project.

I bought a new RV901T. There are hacks required to add a pin header and connect up the JTAG pins. I have another Chinese clone Xilix programmer. I want to use as a logic analyser.

So in order to confirm that everything is still working, and that the new "Xilinx" programmer is working, I looked for an old project called "toggle". I implements a 32 bit counter clocked by the 25MHz xtal and outputs to the parallel I/O. Looks like I modifed it too much (back in the day) and it no longer toggles. Spent half an hour stripping out the extra code. Using ISE 14.7 it now compiles OK. Using iMpact I debugged my wiring and got the JTAG working. The "Xilinx" programmer is recognised as a Digilent programmer not a Xilinx USB programmer! Nevertheless it appears to operate the JTAG chain correctly. I downloaded the toggle code, but ... nothing. Played around with the code several times, re-compiled, checked settings, still nothing on the I/O.

So I re-found the Github for the RV901T. I downloaded the bit/binary file. Downloaded using the "Xilinx" programmer and the LED blinks.

Stripped my own code down to be more or less the same as the blink LED code. Compiled, downloaded, nothing. WTF!