Author Topic: Xilinx Transceivers  (Read 2516 times)

Offline ali_asadzadehTopic starter

• Super Contributor
Xilinx Transceivers
« on: August 12, 2021, 06:55:49 am »
Hi,
I'm new into transceivers and as my first project I want to start with Artix7 parts. do we have a good tutorial on how to config and use them, I want to experiment with the simplest protocols or even a simple custom  one, for education.

Any Hints highly appreciated.
ASiDesigner, Stands for Application specific intelligent devices
I'm a Digital Expert from 8-bits to 64-bits

Online asmi

• Super Contributor
Re: Xilinx Transceivers
« Reply #1 on: August 12, 2021, 06:42:30 pm »
Begin by reading the book "High-Speed Serial I/O Made Simple". it's written by Xilinx and is an excellent introduction into multi-gigabit serial interfaces, even if it's a little old. It can be freely downloaded here: https://www.xilinx.com/publications/archives/books/serialio.pdf

Once you've read and understood the book, proceed to reading UG482. That should occupy you for a good week at least. Don't skimp on this, it is critical to fully understand how this stuff works before you go on to actually using them. After you finish this reading, you will know where to go next.

The following users thanked this post: ali_asadzadeh, RoGeorge, ROT

• Super Contributor
« Reply #2 on: August 12, 2021, 08:47:53 pm »
Big thumbs up :-+ :-+ :-+, actually my final goal is to transmit some data  (Video and some control data) over coaxpress with chips from microchip, since they are very reasonably priced ^-^
« Last Edit: August 12, 2021, 08:55:24 pm by ali_asadzadeh »

The following users thanked this post: paf

Online asmi

• Super Contributor
« Reply #3 on: August 12, 2021, 09:27:30 pm »
Big thumbs up :-+ :-+ :-+, actually my final goal is to transmit some data  (Video and some control data) over coaxpress with chips from microchip, since they are very reasonably priced ^-^