Author Topic: Xilinx XC3S1200 Bitstream - Microblaze pack extraction  (Read 1054 times)

Offline FrancTopic starter

• Regular Contributor
Xilinx XC3S1200 Bitstream - Microblaze pack extraction
« on: May 15, 2022, 08:09:30 pm »
Hey all!!
I'm from MCU world and beginner in FPGA's. Its really new to me.

I'm doing analysis in one old PCB and stopped in this task - Microblaze (or Picoblaze) firmware.
In embedded WinCE 6.0 of my PCB I can see that App expects some data replies from FPGA XC3S1200 and I think there is some CPU inside the bitstream.

My question is (please), anyone knows how to extract the scripts of Microblaze from this bitstream attached?
Is it possible?

Cheers!!!  :clap:

Offline Bassman59

• Super Contributor
  • Yes, I do this for a living
Re: Xilinx XC3S1200 Bitstream - Microblaze pack extraction
« Reply #1 on: May 15, 2022, 09:37:27 pm »
My question is (please), anyone knows how to extract the scripts of Microblaze from this bitstream attached?
Is it possible?

It is not possible to recover the design from the bitstream.

The following users thanked this post: Franc

Offline Foxxz

• Regular Contributor
« Reply #2 on: May 15, 2022, 10:25:02 pm »
There are people who have been working to reverse engineer bitstreams but pulling out the compiled code (I assume thats what you mean from "scripts") its running I couldn't say if thats been done. That compiled code may live on your main CPU, flash, or filesystem somewhere. Its possible the bitstream and the code that runs on the softcore are separate.

But we're assuming the FPGA is running a softcore. You don't need that to communicate to a CPU. It could be using an AXI, serial, or other interface.

Offline kmike

• Regular Contributor
« Reply #3 on: May 16, 2022, 04:08:24 pm »
Hi,

what is this attached file? How did you get it (dumped a flash, or...)?
It does not look like a bitstream or a binary dump from a configuration flash to me (atleast this header "FPGA" is strange).