Author Topic: Simulation Only Software  (Read 1036 times)

Offline merelyusefulTopic starter

Simulation Only Software
« on: June 28, 2020, 02:45:53 pm »
Hi. 

Before we start I'll explain myself a little.  I am relatively inexperienced at electronics but I am a software developer with many years learning new programming languages behind me.  I'm not afraid to learn new packages and I have bashed away at some of the worst software in the world when I had to if it got the job done. 

Anyway.  I am working on a design for an audio amp for and I was using NI's MiltiSym on line to set things up.  The GUI does exactly what you expect it to and everything makes sense.   This was perfect, I could amend their op amp model to use the parameters off the datasheet I was using,  set up my circuit and simulate quickly.  The platform has a learning curve that can be overcome in minutes.  Unfortunately they have a 25 component limit on the trial version and the commercial version costs thousands of pounds which I can't justify. 

Now here's my question:  Is there anything else out there that doesn't carry the same price tag as a Rolex watch that is as easy to learn?   I have incredibly small amounts of time to do this.  I have a very demanding job and a very demanding family so I get to spend a maximum of 25 minutes on something before I get interrupted.  Once I hit the limit on Multisym, I started looking for different online tools and tried a few but none were as easy to learn as (sorry  - I've just been interrupted twice while writing this) Multisym.  I have tried a few but they either wouldn't let me change the op-amp parameters or when I tried loading in the TI spice model,  the simuiation died (I think due ti NGSpice / PSpice incompatibilities).  I've learned enough Eagle to hate it thoroughly but it's looking like the only alternative at the moment.