Author Topic: Choosing intel cpu for Windows 7  (Read 1028 times)

Offline c64Topic starter

• Frequent Contributor
Choosing intel cpu for Windows 7
« on: April 20, 2022, 05:04:12 am »
I need a new computer. Windows 10 / 11 is out of question. Not a Linux fanboi.

Currently I have i5 Gen 7. Officially not supported, but had no issues so far. Even managed to install video drivers.

What are the later generations of Intel processors (i5 or i7) to run on Windows 7 without issues?
« Last Edit: April 20, 2022, 05:05:43 am by c64 »

Offline jpanhalt

• Super Contributor
Re: Choosing intel cpu for Windows 7
« Reply #1 on: April 20, 2022, 05:29:24 am »
I am a complete novice on PC builds and always just went to the local MicroCenter and spoke with a very knowledgeable lady named Pat. 

Last Summer, my i7-4770K cpu died.  It had been about 6 years, and I figured it was time to update.  Not so.  I was told that the only Intel processors that will still run Win 7 (I use Win 7 Pro) are socket LGA 1150 and LGA 1151.  I have not researched that fact.

There are/were some boards and new processor for the LGA 1151 socket.  I ended up buying a used i7-4770K (socket LGA 1150).  In fact, I stocked up on a spare i7-4770K and my old reliable MoBo.  When those finally die, I will probably switch OS, maybe Linux, but that switch will be painful as my favorite CAD programs are probably stuck on Win 7.

Offline BeBuLamar

• Super Contributor
« Reply #2 on: April 20, 2022, 03:07:27 pm »
I think the newest CPU would run windows 7. The problem may be the other hardware like video cards, sound cards, ethernet adapter etc.. that may not have Windows 7 driver.

Online free_electron

• Super Contributor
    • SiliconValleyGarage
« Reply #3 on: April 20, 2022, 05:07:10 pm »
hop on ebay , get a used Z-book or Z800 workstation. runs win7 and win10 without issues. for 600$ you can get a workhorse with a quadro K4100 or K5100 if you get lucky. These machines are rock solid.