Author Topic: Electronics companies putting virus's onto USB sticks  (Read 7866 times)

Offline Bassman59

• Super Contributor
  • Yes, I do this for a living
Re: Electronics companies putting virus's onto USB sticks
« Reply #25 on: October 26, 2021, 09:08:31 pm »
Thanks
If you get a virus from a USB stick, then is the only way to get rid of it to re-install windows?
Does re-installing windows definetely get rid of a virus?

The only way to get rid of those viruses (not virus's) is to toss your computer into the shredder.

The following users thanked this post: Faringdon

Offline Just_another_Dave

• Regular Contributor
« Reply #26 on: October 26, 2021, 09:08:48 pm »
Thanks
If you get a virus from a USB stick, then is the only way to get rid of it to re-install windows?
Does re-installing windows definetely get rid of a virus?

It depends on the type of malware. Most can be eliminated easily just by deleting the infected files (this might require substituting them by a non infected version if the file is necessary for the system). In this case, re-installing windows will get rid of the malware, yet other methods can be used (manually deleting the file, using an antivirus, starting the system in safe mode to impede it from executing and then running the antivirus, running an antivirus from a live cad, etc)

However, there are other types of malware that infects the master boot record or the bios of your computer, making it more resilient and difficult to delete. In this case, it would be necessary to rewrite the MBR or to flash an uninflected firmware to your computer bios

Offline dietert1

• Super Contributor
    • CADT Homepage
« Reply #27 on: October 26, 2021, 09:41:44 pm »