Author Topic: [MOVED] Hacking NVidia Cards into their Professional Counterparts  (Read 1206451 times)

0 Members and 3 Guests are viewing this topic.

Offline Black Phoenix

  • Frequent Contributor
  • **
  • Posts: 508
  • Country: hk
Re: [MOVED] Hacking NVidia Cards into their Professional Counterparts
« Reply #1400 on: September 24, 2019, 07:33:51 am »
Related with this subject, an Youtuber that is registered in this forum just used this topic as a reference for his project:




 

Offline namgorf

  • Contributor
  • Posts: 6
  • Country: us
Re: [MOVED] Hacking NVidia Cards into their Professional Counterparts
« Reply #1401 on: September 24, 2019, 10:30:02 pm »
I watched these last night, very awesome. New sub from me.
 

Offline NobleX13

  • Newbie
  • Posts: 2
  • Country: us
Re: [MOVED] Hacking NVidia Cards into their Professional Counterparts
« Reply #1402 on: October 11, 2019, 02:01:28 pm »
I really dont get it.
I flashed ROM from namgorf and confirmed that it has InfoROM
Still having this screen on Dell R720
I updated latest firmware on R720 as well...
It works fine on HP Z420 but not on Dell R720

What am I missing  |O |O |O |O |O |O |O |O |O |O |O |O |O

(Attachment Link)

Did you ever get past this?  You could say I am following in your footsteps from the shadows.  I just converted a Tesla K10 into an NVIDIA GRID K2 yesterday and I get the same result on my PowerEdge R720.

I soldered the strap resistors, reassembled the card with new thermal paste, and flashed the "2014" BIOS to each GPU.  I did notice the "PLX" entry in nvflash but didn't do anything with that.  Was I supposed to? The SHA256 hash of the BIOS file I flashed was BB04DF8552BF60B827E1C963B1D8527386D9448D554BC01799CE7F8605763951

My R720 has dual E5-2650 V2s, 128GB of PC3L-12800R, and dual 750W power supplies.  I saw the other post here about power delivery, but this card has a max power consumption at full load of maybe 200W, and my system power readout is only sitting at 280W with this GPU installed.  I am using a quick and dirty homemade power cable.  Please excuse the WAGO Lever Nuts.  I triple-checked the pinout and continuity with a multimeter, for what it's worth.

Right now I am using the riser connected to CPU2, because it was easier to install the card over there.  I ran out of time for troubleshooting last night.  I did not try the other riser, removing all other PCI-e cards, or enabling "Above 4G decoding" in the BIOS yet.  That is on the agenda for tonight.

I am running a BIOS version from 2016 to avoid the Spectre/Meltdown microcode mitigation.
« Last Edit: October 11, 2019, 03:14:38 pm by NobleX13 »
 

Offline foxxer

  • Newbie
  • Posts: 2
  • Country: ru
Re: [MOVED] Hacking NVidia Cards into their Professional Counterparts
« Reply #1403 on: October 25, 2019, 04:51:35 am »
Hello. Sorry for my English(using translator). Who knows how to use the HEX editor and understanding of the work of video card BIOS? I ask for help, it will not take much time, if there is knowledge.

I have a Quadro 2000 1Gb DDR5 card
There is a desire to flash it as a GTS450

There is info that for the reverse operation, i.e. for GTS450 firmware ---> Quadro 2000 need to alter the straps with the command:
C: \> nvflash --index = X --strap 0x7FFC2FFF 0x10006000 0x7fffffff 0x00000000

Those. IDs for cards differ, for picking up by drivers:
GTS 450 - 0x0DC4 - 0000 1101 1100 0100
Quadro 2000 - 0x0DD8 - 0000 1101 1101 1000

Tell me, what command should I type in NVFLASH with Q2000 so that the ID from the GTS450 is registered in BIOS?
Goal - so that the system after flashing a QUADRO 2000 card identifies it as a GTS450 and works with Geforce drivers

Thank you for support
 

Offline acidice333

  • Newbie
  • Posts: 1
  • Country: ca
Re: [MOVED] Hacking NVidia Cards into their Professional Counterparts
« Reply #1404 on: October 31, 2019, 09:18:22 pm »
Could I get the K2 with the inforom dump too? :D
 

Offline foxxer

  • Newbie
  • Posts: 2
  • Country: ru
Re: [MOVED] Hacking NVidia Cards into their Professional Counterparts
« Reply #1405 on: November 01, 2019, 05:45:00 am »
here is rom for my Quadro 2000
 

Offline n_lona

  • Newbie
  • Posts: 1
  • Country: it
Re: [MOVED] Hacking NVidia Cards into their Professional Counterparts
« Reply #1406 on: December 07, 2019, 01:30:31 pm »
Hi thanks for let me in.
Is there any previous attempt to turn an EVGA gtx 1050ti and gt 710 into their respectivetly professional couterparty (suppose the first should be a quadro m2000 pascal and ..)
Is there any way to hack cudnn libraries making system believing that on board card is a quadro or better?
« Last Edit: December 07, 2019, 01:42:45 pm by n_lona »
 

Offline martos

  • Contributor
  • Posts: 5
  • Country: fr
Re: [MOVED] Hacking NVidia Cards into their Professional Counterparts
« Reply #1407 on: December 17, 2019, 11:42:06 am »
Hello all,

I have a real Nvidia K10 , and i want transform it in Nvidia Grid 2
so
tesla k10           none                                                40K                                                  None                                         25k                                                                             
TO
grid k2              none                                                40K                                                  20K                                           none

I have the real gpu bios of Grid K2 ( Craft Computing have post a link in youtube, and i tested with the software KeplerBiosTweaker_1.27 , it seem ok )

I see where is it  ( at time 12:00 )

I see a link to the buy a 40k https://www.digikey.com/products/en?keywords=P40.2KDCCT-ND
But i need a 20K too

Could you validate the filter i put :

Filter : Panasonic ERA-xA Series 0.1 % 0402 1005 25 PPM / C 50 V SMD/SMT Thin Film Resistors Thin Film Resistors - SMD
result : https://www.mouser.fr/Passive-Components/Resistors/Film-Resistors/Thin-Film-Resistors-SMD/ERA-xA-Series/_/N-7gz44?P=1z0wdwsZ1z0z7ymZ1z0vpm5Z1z0x83kZ1yzmoucZ1yzmoubZ1y95jjmZ1y9oo9v


If someone want a dump of the tesla K10 biso , i can send it.

 

Offline martos

  • Contributor
  • Posts: 5
  • Country: fr
Re: [MOVED] Hacking NVidia Cards into their Professional Counterparts
« Reply #1408 on: December 17, 2019, 07:20:08 pm »
Could someone can confirm this reference :

10K
ERA-2AEB103X
15K
ERA-2AEB153X
20 K
ERA-2AEB203X‎
25K
667-ERA-2AEB2492X
40 k
ERA-2AEB4022X‎
 

Offline DDSD

  • Newbie
  • Posts: 1
  • Country: uz
Re: [MOVED] Hacking NVidia Cards into their Professional Counterparts
« Reply #1409 on: January 17, 2020, 06:37:07 am »
Hello. If any solution can you help me with PNY GTS450 to Q2000.
 

Offline gotofbi

  • Contributor
  • Posts: 12
Re: [MOVED] Hacking NVidia Cards into their Professional Counterparts
« Reply #1410 on: January 29, 2020, 11:21:17 pm »
I really dont get it.
I flashed ROM from namgorf and confirmed that it has InfoROM
Still having this screen on Dell R720
I updated latest firmware on R720 as well...
It works fine on HP Z420 but not on Dell R720

What am I missing  |O |O |O |O |O |O |O |O |O |O |O |O |O

(Attachment Link)

Did you ever get past this?  You could say I am following in your footsteps from the shadows.  I just converted a Tesla K10 into an NVIDIA GRID K2 yesterday and I get the same result on my PowerEdge R720.

I soldered the strap resistors, reassembled the card with new thermal paste, and flashed the "2014" BIOS to each GPU.  I did notice the "PLX" entry in nvflash but didn't do anything with that.  Was I supposed to? The SHA256 hash of the BIOS file I flashed was BB04DF8552BF60B827E1C963B1D8527386D9448D554BC01799CE7F8605763951

My R720 has dual E5-2650 V2s, 128GB of PC3L-12800R, and dual 750W power supplies.  I saw the other post here about power delivery, but this card has a max power consumption at full load of maybe 200W, and my system power readout is only sitting at 280W with this GPU installed.  I am using a quick and dirty homemade power cable.  Please excuse the WAGO Lever Nuts.  I triple-checked the pinout and continuity with a multimeter, for what it's worth.

Right now I am using the riser connected to CPU2, because it was easier to install the card over there.  I ran out of time for troubleshooting last night.  I did not try the other riser, removing all other PCI-e cards, or enabling "Above 4G decoding" in the BIOS yet.  That is on the agenda for tonight.

I am running a BIOS version from 2016 to avoid the Spectre/Meltdown microcode mitigation.

I did everything I could do on R720 but it didnt work.
I was thinking about purchasing real K2 for test but got more important projects to do.

I tested on two different R720 but same issue.
One was with V1 cpu and the other was V2

Only common thing that I can see now is 750W power supply.

Have you solved the problem?
« Last Edit: January 29, 2020, 11:43:44 pm by gotofbi »
 

Offline martos

  • Contributor
  • Posts: 5
  • Country: fr
Re: [MOVED] Hacking NVidia Cards into their Professional Counterparts
« Reply #1411 on: February 02, 2020, 05:28:10 pm »
Hello,
an another solution to try if it's works , take an PC Desktop in windows 10 , put the real power VGA cable ( One 8 pins and One 6 pins ) , of course keep a video card ( so you need 2 * 16X PCI E ) .
If windows detect Grid K2, ( first good point)
  launch "GPU Z" software, choose the card 1 or 2, and make a backup of the Bios.
Compare the bios with K2 bios ( with no error it's the second good point )
Use KeplerBiosTweaker_1.27
and you can optimise the consumation of the card and putin the modfied bios in your 2 cards

I make a image of what i need to change in the K10 to change it in Grid K2, could you confirme its ok please?

 

Offline gotofbi

  • Contributor
  • Posts: 12
Re: [MOVED] Hacking NVidia Cards into their Professional Counterparts
« Reply #1412 on: February 04, 2020, 08:17:26 am »
Hello,
an another solution to try if it's works , take an PC Desktop in windows 10 , put the real power VGA cable ( One 8 pins and One 6 pins ) , of course keep a video card ( so you need 2 * 16X PCI E ) .
If windows detect Grid K2, ( first good point)
  launch "GPU Z" software, choose the card 1 or 2, and make a backup of the Bios.
Compare the bios with K2 bios ( with no error it's the second good point )
Use KeplerBiosTweaker_1.27
and you can optimise the consumation of the card and putin the modfied bios in your 2 cards

I make a image of what i need to change in the K10 to change it in Grid K2, could you confirme its ok please?

correct
 

Offline martos

  • Contributor
  • Posts: 5
  • Country: fr
Re: [MOVED] Hacking NVidia Cards into their Professional Counterparts
« Reply #1413 on: February 06, 2020, 12:27:49 am »
Thank's a lot !
another trouble who can have in some server, the pci-e on some server don't give th good power. ( i have the trouble on some proliant G5 )
So i add a pci-x riser with a molex :
https://www.pc-adapter.net/product/732.html
 

Offline martos

  • Contributor
  • Posts: 5
  • Country: fr
Re: [MOVED] Hacking NVidia Cards into their Professional Counterparts
« Reply #1414 on: February 19, 2020, 08:15:30 am »
some news :
 


Share me

Digg  Facebook  SlashDot  Delicious  Technorati  Twitter  Google  Yahoo
Smf