Author Topic: [MOVED] Hacking NVidia Cards into their Professional Counterparts  (Read 1304451 times)

0 Members and 6 Guests are viewing this topic.

Offline krutav

  • Contributor
  • Posts: 19
  • Country: us
Re: [MOVED] Hacking NVidia Cards into their Professional Counterparts
« Reply #1500 on: December 05, 2020, 12:36:17 am »
Quote
It will NOT improve SPECviewperf scores or CAD performance on consumer hardawre. Quadro GPU uses far higher quality chips compared to geforce.

I know. Only Solidworks must see it as prof.card to open some features like Anti-Aliasing, i dont need more performance its enough power what GTX1070 brings.
I buy me a second machine to make experiments. This machine is a workstation i cant make experiments with it. January maybe can i test it.
Is Ryzen/nvidia combo good for this project?
Get an AMD GPU like RX480. It can be flashed with the vBIOS of a FirePRO and Radeon Pro Instinct GPUs. They are also far cheaper compared to Nvidia, which I wouldn't bother with because of its ridiculous price. I use Solidworks on my GTX 1060 and it works perfectly fine, haven't had any issues with it. Ryzen is great for the project because of the price to performance value.
 

Offline bayx

  • Contributor
  • Posts: 20
  • Country: de
Re: [MOVED] Hacking NVidia Cards into their Professional Counterparts
« Reply #1501 on: December 05, 2020, 01:10:38 am »
Any link ? which firepro vbios?

Edit: I find some how to´s but only for RX480 to change it in a RX580 nothing about firepro w7100 or something like that.
« Last Edit: December 06, 2020, 12:37:36 am by bayx »
 

Offline krutav

  • Contributor
  • Posts: 19
  • Country: us
Re: [MOVED] Hacking NVidia Cards into their Professional Counterparts
« Reply #1502 on: December 07, 2020, 01:09:37 am »
Any link ? which firepro vbios?

Edit: I find some how to´s but only for RX480 to change it in a RX580 nothing about firepro w7100 or something like that.

You won't find any, but it shares the same chip as the Radeon instinct MI6. "Polaris 10 XT." This means that you can also flash it with the vBIOS for the Radeon Pro WX7100 which is a pretty good card. All you need is ATIFlash and the vBIOS file from techpowerup website. there is no tutorial for it right now. Here is the link for the vBIOS. https://www.techpowerup.com/vgabios/196721/196721
I remember converting a junk FirePro to a consumer card so I could use a newer driver with it by flashing the vBIOS. Because the RX 480 8GB is so cheap now, this is not a very expensive mod to do, which I could recommend if you want to improve your CAD experience or unlock SR-IOV features.
 

Offline bayx

  • Contributor
  • Posts: 20
  • Country: de
Re: [MOVED] Hacking NVidia Cards into their Professional Counterparts
« Reply #1503 on: December 07, 2020, 10:44:30 pm »
This is to tricky... Buy me ne hw for 2nd pc (server) Ryzen 3900X + RTX2080ti
 

Offline krutav

  • Contributor
  • Posts: 19
  • Country: us
Re: [MOVED] Hacking NVidia Cards into their Professional Counterparts
« Reply #1504 on: December 08, 2020, 08:41:24 pm »
This is to tricky... Buy me ne hw for 2nd pc (server) Ryzen 3900X + RTX2080ti
Yes... it is. That's why we have new technologies coming out all the time. Notably, GPU-P on windows allows you to partition any GPU for the VM for absolutely free on Hyper-V. It's far easier compared to all this hardware and software modding because it "just works."
 

Offline bayx

  • Contributor
  • Posts: 20
  • Country: de
Re: [MOVED] Hacking NVidia Cards into their Professional Counterparts
« Reply #1505 on: December 09, 2020, 01:41:29 am »
This is totaly new. No thx :)
My goal is now buy a new gpu (2080ti)
Install ubuntu 20/10
Install kvm
Configure a VM with gpu pathtrough
Spoof it as RTX6000 or 8000 <--- this point is very importand for me.
I find a cool video there everything explained how to install it on ubuntu.

 https://youtu.be/ID3dlVHDl0c

Only thing is can't find videos for spoofing gpus.
« Last Edit: December 11, 2020, 12:20:03 pm by bayx »
 
The following users thanked this post: RoGeorge

Offline krutav

  • Contributor
  • Posts: 19
  • Country: us
Re: [MOVED] Hacking NVidia Cards into their Professional Counterparts
« Reply #1506 on: December 12, 2020, 03:05:23 am »
This is totaly new. No thx :)
My goal is now buy a new gpu (2080ti)
Install ubuntu 20/10
Install kvm
Configure a VM with gpu pathtrough
Spoof it as RTX6000 or 8000 <--- this point is very importand for me.
I find a cool video there everything explained how to install it on ubuntu.

 https://youtu.be/ID3dlVHDl0c

Only thing is can't find videos for spoofing gpus.

You can use the VFIO PCI spoof arguments that I posted earlier. It works flawlessly.
 

Offline bayx

  • Contributor
  • Posts: 20
  • Country: de
Re: [MOVED] Hacking NVidia Cards into their Professional Counterparts
« Reply #1507 on: December 12, 2020, 12:13:19 pm »
This is totaly new. No thx :)
My goal is now buy a new gpu (2080ti)
Install ubuntu 20/10
Install kvm
Configure a VM with gpu pathtrough
Spoof it as RTX6000 or 8000 <--- this point is very importand for me.
I find a cool video there everything explained how to install it on ubuntu.

 https://youtu.be/ID3dlVHDl0c

Only thing is can't find videos for spoofing gpus.

You can use the VFIO PCI spoof arguments that I posted earlier. It works flawlessly.

Perfect thxxxx

Last questen is there any "error 43" problems with amd radeon cards?

PS Status : Sold my 2 GTX1070 now looking for 2080ti on Ebay 🤪
« Last Edit: December 12, 2020, 12:15:49 pm by bayx »
 

Offline krutav

  • Contributor
  • Posts: 19
  • Country: us
Re: [MOVED] Hacking NVidia Cards into their Professional Counterparts
« Reply #1508 on: December 12, 2020, 09:13:31 pm »
This is totaly new. No thx :)
My goal is now buy a new gpu (2080ti)
Install ubuntu 20/10
Install kvm
Configure a VM with gpu pathtrough
Spoof it as RTX6000 or 8000 <--- this point is very importand for me.
I find a cool video there everything explained how to install it on ubuntu.

 https://youtu.be/ID3dlVHDl0c

Only thing is can't find videos for spoofing gpus.

You can use the VFIO PCI spoof arguments that I posted earlier. It works flawlessly.

Perfect thxxxx

Last questen is there any "error 43" problems with amd radeon cards?

PS Status : Sold my 2 GTX1070 now looking for 2080ti on Ebay 🤪

There will only be a code 43 if you set it up incorrectly. You need to set CPU model to "host" if you want to tell windows it is a real machine and not VM. Because you are spoofing as a QUADRO RTX card, it does not matter because the drivers for those are allowed on VMs. On AMD, you will not get a code 43 because they are a bit nicer, but they will disable some features if you are not using Radeon FirePro because it has detected VM. Otherwise, I think you will be fine.
 

Offline bayx

  • Contributor
  • Posts: 20
  • Country: de
Re: [MOVED] Hacking NVidia Cards into their Professional Counterparts
« Reply #1509 on: December 15, 2020, 11:57:44 am »
"but they will disable some features if you are not using Radeon FirePro"

what are these?

PS: My 2080ti (MSI Trio) is on the way to me   8)
« Last Edit: December 15, 2020, 12:00:11 pm by bayx »
 

Offline krutav

  • Contributor
  • Posts: 19
  • Country: us
Re: [MOVED] Hacking NVidia Cards into their Professional Counterparts
« Reply #1510 on: December 15, 2020, 08:41:52 pm »
"but they will disable some features if you are not using Radeon FirePro"

what are these?

PS: My 2080ti (MSI Trio) is on the way to me   8)

What I am saying is that Nvidia disables GeForce driver on VM, but AMD does not. Instead, AMD disables a couple features according to the forums, but the GPU should still work. That only happens if you are using AMD gaming GPU without setting your KVM model to "host." If you are spoofing the GPU, you should be fine either way.
 

Offline bayx

  • Contributor
  • Posts: 20
  • Country: de
Re: [MOVED] Hacking NVidia Cards into their Professional Counterparts
« Reply #1511 on: December 16, 2020, 11:24:57 pm »
"but they will disable some features if you are not using Radeon FirePro"

what are these?

PS: My 2080ti (MSI Trio) is on the way to me   8)

What I am saying is that Nvidia disables GeForce driver on VM, but AMD does not. Instead, AMD disables a couple features according to the forums, but the GPU should still work. That only happens if you are using AMD gaming GPU without setting your KVM model to "host." If you are spoofing the GPU, you should be fine either way.

Understand,  same way spoof it as "FirePro" with vbios.... and some vfio configs
 

Offline krutav

  • Contributor
  • Posts: 19
  • Country: us
Re: [MOVED] Hacking NVidia Cards into their Professional Counterparts
« Reply #1512 on: December 18, 2020, 12:30:15 am »
"but they will disable some features if you are not using Radeon FirePro"

what are these?

PS: My 2080ti (MSI Trio) is on the way to me   8)

What I am saying is that Nvidia disables GeForce driver on VM, but AMD does not. Instead, AMD disables a couple features according to the forums, but the GPU should still work. That only happens if you are using AMD gaming GPU without setting your KVM model to "host." If you are spoofing the GPU, you should be fine either way.

Understand,  same way spoof it as "FirePro" with vbios.... and some vfio configs

Actually, if all you want to do is spoof PCI ID, you dont need to flash vBIOS. Solidworks only checks for PCI ID, and no program or driver really cares about the vbios. All I had to do was spoof PCI ID and windows automatically loaded quadro driver and i got advanced functionality in solidworks.
 

Offline bayx

  • Contributor
  • Posts: 20
  • Country: de
Re: [MOVED] Hacking NVidia Cards into their Professional Counterparts
« Reply #1513 on: December 18, 2020, 12:52:40 am »
"but they will disable some features if you are not using Radeon FirePro"

what are these?

PS: My 2080ti (MSI Trio) is on the way to me   8)

What I am saying is that Nvidia disables GeForce driver on VM, but AMD does not. Instead, AMD disables a couple features according to the forums, but the GPU should still work. That only happens if you are using AMD gaming GPU without setting your KVM model to "host." If you are spoofing the GPU, you should be fine either way.

Understand,  same way spoof it as "FirePro" with vbios.... and some vfio configs

Actually, if all you want to do is spoof PCI ID, you dont need to flash vBIOS. Solidworks only checks for PCI ID, and no program or driver really cares about the vbios. All I had to do was spoof PCI ID and windows automatically loaded quadro driver and i got advanced functionality in solidworks.

This is a fantastic info... i have no time at moment, i am on fire, January i have many time for some experiments.
 
« Last Edit: December 18, 2020, 01:01:51 am by bayx »
 

Offline gotofbi

  • Contributor
  • Posts: 29
Re: [MOVED] Hacking NVidia Cards into their Professional Counterparts
« Reply #1514 on: January 15, 2021, 09:42:12 am »
I am interested in the solution of kvm and vgpu. Can anyone guide us which file should be patched?
I am working on nvidia-vgpu. It uses flexlm embedded and binary file (****64) format....so it should be doable

Your PM box is full so I cant send you PM.
Have you worked on flexlm before?
 


Share me

Digg  Facebook  SlashDot  Delicious  Technorati  Twitter  Google  Yahoo
Smf