Author Topic: How is this INSANITY safe?!  (Read 9350 times)

Offline Bassman59

• Super Contributor
  • Yes, I do this for a living
Re: How is this INSANITY safe?!
« Reply #25 on: October 25, 2021, 06:44:58 pm »
On the subject of anecdotal evidence, recency is very important.

Uh, that's what I said.

Offline Halcyon

• Global Moderator
« Reply #26 on: October 25, 2021, 06:53:26 pm »
On the subject of anecdotal evidence, recency is very important.

Uh, that's what I said.

Yes, so to reiterate my point, just because your experiences with failing Apple lighting cables haven't been recent, doesn't mean that everyone else's haven't either. The majority of mine have been over the past few years. I can't say for certain whether their cables are getting better or worse (or remaining the same), but in my recent experience, USB tends to be significantly more robust than Lightning and I've used a hell of a lot more USB cables over the years.

Offline Just_another_Dave

• Regular Contributor
« Reply #27 on: October 25, 2021, 08:39:12 pm »
I also think it is stupid to increase the voltage to 48V which can cause arcing by disconnecting, warn that new special cables are needed to comply but then keep the same connector.
Thus any old not compliant existing cable will work but is unsafe. Stupid!
Create a new hot plug safe connector and system.

Below 50V there’s no risk of permanent damage to the user, so it should be completely safe. Additionally, the converters used in those devices usually have short circuit protections

Regarding the cable, usb-c just increases to those voltages if an adequate cable is used

Offline thm_w

• Super Contributor
  • Non-expert
« Reply #28 on: October 25, 2021, 09:49:14 pm »
Below 50V there’s no risk of permanent damage to the user, so it should be completely safe. Additionally, the converters used in those devices usually have short circuit protections

Regarding the cable, usb-c just increases to those voltages if an adequate cable is used