Author Topic: keyboard for programmers, any recommendations?  (Read 15322 times)

Offline Bassman59

• Super Contributor
  • Yes, I do this for a living
Re: keyboard for programmers, any recommendations?
« Reply #50 on: July 20, 2021, 07:43:47 pm »

The very great disadvantage of getting used to a customised layout is you can't use anyone else's computer. You'd have to carry your own KB with you everywhere you go.

I swap Left-Control and Caps-Lock for the obvious reason and that baffles everyone who sits down at any of my computers.

Offline AaronLee

• Regular Contributor
« Reply #51 on: July 21, 2021, 01:18:44 am »
I still use the cursor keys on the numpad, and input numbers via the keys on the top row. If I have some task of inputting lots of numbers, then I have a layer on my keyboard where the numbers can be inputted via the numpad.

Offline PlainName

• Super Contributor
« Reply #52 on: July 21, 2021, 08:48:15 am »
Thanks. One of the problem with all these keyboards, particularly the expensive ones, is that you can't easily try them out. Dropping $355 to find the feel isn't quite right could get expensive very quickly.

Offline AaronLee

• Regular Contributor
« Reply #53 on: July 21, 2021, 09:02:08 am »
Thanks. One of the problem with all these keyboards, particularly the expensive ones, is that you can't easily try them out. Dropping $355 to find the feel isn't quite right could get expensive very quickly.

Depending on where you're at, there may be keyboard enthusiasts which have a get-together where they bring their keyboards and you can try them out. Or join a forum for keyboard enthusiasts and ask if there's anyone nearby the has the keyboard(s) you're interested in and if you could meet up with them to try it out. Or buy the keyboard you think suits you best, and if you don't like it, try to resell it on Ebay or such, for which you'll still lose money, but not like losing the full amount.