Author Topic: OMG this is happening !!! Loongson 3A5000 laptops finally available  (Read 7782 times)

Offline james_s

• Super Contributor
Re: OMG this is happening !!! Loongson 3A5000 laptops finally available
« Reply #25 on: August 09, 2022, 10:38:40 pm »
power button as a regular key and absence of dedicated insert key means "NO NO and NO" .. sorry..

I've never owned a laptop that has the power button as a regular key, but even so, you can just set it to do nothing unless you hold it down. I have never in my life used the Insert key, it seems like one of those vestigial keys like Scroll Lock. What is it even for?

apparently you're not a linux guy if you never used the insert key ;) for a opensource laptop the majority of the users would be linux guys...
power button as a regular key is annoying because you can hit it by accident and sleep your laptop in a middle of something important.

I've been using Linux in some capacity for >20 years, pretty heavily for the last 3 or 4, in fact the system I'm typing this on right now is running Linux. I've never used the Insert key, ever.

Offline DiTBhoTopic starter

• Super Contributor
« Reply #26 on: August 09, 2022, 10:47:57 pm »
It mentions that these machines are designed to be used with "free software" from the "BIOS upwards". Free does not necessarily mean open source and even if it was completely open source, what about the hardware "below" the BIOS level? Does anyone truly know what those Loongson processors are doing?

I am fixing stuff for the Olimex's Teres1, based on the Allwinner SoC A64, basically ARM64 + OR (bugged) MPU, 2GB of ram.