Author Topic: Tempted to upgrade my pfSense Box  (Read 199 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline Zucca

  • Supporter
  • ****
  • Posts: 2479
  • Country: it
  • EE meid in Itali
Tempted to upgrade my pfSense Box
« on: March 24, 2020, 11:46:20 am »
I found a very cheap old Server IBM System x3550 (Typ 7978) Intel Xeon E5320:

4x GB Intel Lan Ports (2 Intern + 2 Intel 1000 Netzwerkkarte)
1x IBM Management Port
1x Intel Xeon E5320 CPU
2x SAS 60GB HDD Raid
1x SAS Raid Controller
6GB ECC RAM

right now I have a old gaming AMD with MB Crosshair IV which works as pfSense box, should I pull the trigger?

What I like the IBM is designed to be on 24/7 and right now my AMD is failing once a week, I think it's time to jump on a proper server.

Worried about the $/year in electricity I will have to pay for that.

What do you think?


« Last Edit: March 24, 2020, 12:04:52 pm by Zucca »
Can't know what you don't love. St. Augustine
Can't love what you don't know. Zucca
 

Online bd139

  • Super Contributor
  • ***
  • Posts: 13564
  • Country: gb
Re: Tempted to upgrade my pfSense Box
« Reply #1 on: March 24, 2020, 12:06:01 pm »
That's a pretty old bit of kit. circa 2006. Power hungry too. Known to idle around 180W (!) if it's warm. I'd head in the direction of one of the more modern "microservers". They'll be faster, much much cheaper to run, quieter, you can leverage SSD storage and it'll probably not blow up randomly in 3 months just when you need it. Over 2 years you'll have a net return in investment just on power. Running that IBM box here will cost approx £294 a year, whereas a microserver ~£60 a year. So after 2 years you'll be up £468 on cash which is enough to buy a microserver and mitigate all the other risks. Obviously depends on your electricity cost that but running old stuff is rarely cash efficient other than capital expenditure.

I have opted for the "use the shitty router at the network border that comes with the ISP" and skipped all local file storage because the cost of that is ~£24/year and doesn't take any of my time up managing it.
 
The following users thanked this post: Zucca

Offline Zucca

  • Supporter
  • ****
  • Posts: 2479
  • Country: it
  • EE meid in Itali
Re: Tempted to upgrade my pfSense Box
« Reply #2 on: March 24, 2020, 12:14:20 pm »
and bd comes and clears the air pretty well thanks.

PS: When something is too cheap, there is always a reason behind.
Can't know what you don't love. St. Augustine
Can't love what you don't know. Zucca
 

Offline Zucca

  • Supporter
  • ****
  • Posts: 2479
  • Country: it
  • EE meid in Itali
Can't know what you don't love. St. Augustine
Can't love what you don't know. Zucca
 

Online bd139

  • Super Contributor
  • ***
  • Posts: 13564
  • Country: gb
Re: Tempted to upgrade my pfSense Box
« Reply #4 on: March 24, 2020, 01:50:11 pm »
That’ll do the job  :-+
 

Offline gmb42

  • Regular Contributor
  • *
  • Posts: 185
  • Country: gb
Re: Tempted to upgrade my pfSense Box
« Reply #5 on: March 25, 2020, 01:17:24 pm »
 

Online bd139

  • Super Contributor
  • ***
  • Posts: 13564
  • Country: gb
Re: Tempted to upgrade my pfSense Box
« Reply #6 on: March 25, 2020, 01:19:16 pm »
Depends what they put on the customs declaration. A lot of stuff I order from China turns up with a $12 value  :-DD
 

Offline rdl

  • Super Contributor
  • ***
  • Posts: 2830
  • Country: us
Re: Tempted to upgrade my pfSense Box
« Reply #7 on: March 25, 2020, 07:08:25 pm »
You can buy machines like that on Amazon here in the US. I almost ordered one a couple of weeks ago. The biggest "brand" seems to be Protectli.
 


Share me

Digg  Facebook  SlashDot  Delicious  Technorati  Twitter  Google  Yahoo
Smf