Author Topic: What you would do with a 768MB cache  (Read 3059 times)

Offline ali_asadzadehTopic starter

• Super Contributor
What you would do with a 768MB cache
« on: March 23, 2022, 10:56:19 am »
AMD has reveled their new EPYC chips with massive 768MB L3 cache, what a world are we living!
What's your favorite use case for them?
Personally I think RTL design can be done much faster!!! waiting to see what they would bring to 7 series Desktop Ryzen processors, I hope to see this trend too.
« Last Edit: March 23, 2022, 10:59:46 am by ali_asadzadeh »
ASiDesigner, Stands for Application specific intelligent devices
I'm a Digital Expert from 8-bits to 64-bits

Offline eugene

• Frequent Contributor
Re: What you would do with a 768MB cache
« Reply #1 on: March 23, 2022, 01:56:44 pm »

Text editor, web browser, compiler, ...
90% of quoted statistics are fictional

Offline Ed.Kloonk

• Super Contributor
  • Cat video aficionado
« Reply #2 on: March 23, 2022, 02:02:01 pm »
768 Meg ought to be enough for anybody.  - Ed. Kloonk, 2022
iratus parum formica

The following users thanked this post: newbrain, james_s, YurkshireLad, MazeFrame

Online DavidAlfa

• Super Contributor
« Reply #3 on: March 23, 2022, 02:10:16 pm »
It's oriented for extremely-threaded systems like a server, running thousands of processes.
I think it wouldn't make much difference for home computers.
Hantek DSO2x1x            Drive        FAQ          DON'T BUY HANTEK! (Aka HALF-MADE)
Stm32 Soldering FW      Forum      Github      Donate

Offline madires

• Super Contributor
  • A qualified hobbyist ;)
« Reply #4 on: March 23, 2022, 03:21:44 pm »
Great for running multiple VMs at the same time.

Online T3sl4co1l

• Super Contributor
  • Expert, Analog Electronics, PCB Layout, EMC
    • Seven Transistor Labs
« Reply #5 on: March 23, 2022, 03:25:29 pm »
Great for running multiple VMs at the same time.

One less cache level to Spectre through? :-DD

Tim
Seven Transistor Labs, LLC