Author Topic: Program that can log from many multimeters.  (Read 489591 times)

0 Members and 4 Guests are viewing this topic.

Offline iMo

  • Super Contributor
  • ***
  • Posts: 4793
  • Country: pm
  • It's important to try new things..
Re: Program that can log from many multimeters.
« Reply #2625 on: June 18, 2022, 07:46:43 am »
Hi, do you plan to include the Owon BT35/41 handhelds?

No, but check my notes here: http://lygte-info.dk/project/TestControllerSupportedEquipment%20UK.html
Somebody else has made it possible to use the Owen meters in TestController.

I've found this Win10 based for any BLE controller, as they claim: https://github.com/jtcash/OwonB41T

PS: the question is whether those support several multimeters connected..
« Last Edit: June 18, 2022, 07:49:40 am by imo »
 

Offline HKJTopic starter

  • Super Contributor
  • ***
  • Posts: 2904
  • Country: dk
    • Tests
Re: Program that can log from many multimeters.
« Reply #2626 on: June 18, 2022, 07:56:05 am »
I've found this Win10 based for any BLE controller, as they claim: https://github.com/jtcash/OwonB41T

PS: the question is whether those support several multimeters connected..

Using the "Single value" driver you can easily configure TestController for that.
https://lygte-info.dk/project/TestControllerConfigDevice2%20UK.html#Single_value
 
The following users thanked this post: iMo

Offline SpottedDick

  • Regular Contributor
  • *
  • Posts: 91
  • Country: ie
Re: Program that can log from many multimeters.
« Reply #2627 on: June 18, 2022, 01:09:50 pm »
I can't believe the amount of stuff that goes wrong with this 2/3 day simple project that has turned into weeks (not related to test controller, just everything else has gone wrong with it).

I fried the original DL24P board I have (my fault, shorted a serial line to 5V). I had to order a new one. The new one has a different arrangement for the bluetooth module (which I don't use anyway) but apart from that according to ATorch they should be identical.

Test Controller won't connect to it.

I can see from RealTerm the device is constantly sending:

> FF55010200000000000000000000000000000000000000000018000000003C0000000013

However no matter what I select in test controller, test controller doesn't attempt to ID it or respond to this signal. This seems to be another internal driver so I can't figure out what's happening?

Yes, I did try the new "DL24M-H" driver to see if it would connect. No dice.

Any idea what's going on? I assume they've slightly changed the ID or something and Test controller just can't see it

Attached is a picture of the old and new board side by side.

(New board on left, old board is mangled from me playing with it after it broke).

Thanks
 

Offline HKJTopic starter

  • Super Contributor
  • ***
  • Posts: 2904
  • Country: dk
    • Tests
Re: Program that can log from many multimeters.
« Reply #2628 on: June 18, 2022, 01:28:51 pm »
I fried the original DL24P board I have (my fault, shorted a serial line to 5V). I had to order a new one. The new one has a different arrangement for the bluetooth module (which I don't use anyway) but apart from that according to ATorch they should be identical.

Test Controller won't connect to it.

I can see from RealTerm the device is constantly sending:

> FF55010200000000000000000000000000000000000000000018000000003C0000000013

However no matter what I select in test controller, test controller doesn't attempt to ID it or respond to this signal. This seems to be another internal driver so I can't figure out what's happening?

You can probably get it working with that protocol:
Open the ATorchDevices.txt file
Remote the semicolons from:

;#metadef
;#idString ATorch,ATorch DL24P,
;#name ATorch DL24P
;#handle ATDL24
;#sections DCLOAD_DEVICE

Change the name:

#metadef
#idString ATorch,ATorch DL24PX,
#name ATorch DL24PX
#handle ATDL24
#sections DCLOAD_DEVICE

Restart TestController and try loading this device you have just created.
 

Offline SpottedDick

  • Regular Contributor
  • *
  • Posts: 91
  • Country: ie
Re: Program that can log from many multimeters.
« Reply #2629 on: June 18, 2022, 01:40:55 pm »
Thanks HKJ,

Leave this with me though. I think it may have been more a user error problem.

Thanks though for your prompt response.

 

Offline HKJTopic starter

  • Super Contributor
  • ***
  • Posts: 2904
  • Country: dk
    • Tests
Re: Program that can log from many multimeters.
« Reply #2630 on: June 18, 2022, 04:14:41 pm »
Leave this with me though. I think it may have been more a user error problem.

Thanks though for your prompt response.

The protocol with  FF55 is a ATorch protocol that they uses on a lot of stuff, but it is more limited than the PX100 protocol. The loads usually support both.
 

Offline SpottedDick

  • Regular Contributor
  • *
  • Posts: 91
  • Country: ie
Re: Program that can log from many multimeters.
« Reply #2631 on: June 18, 2022, 10:09:12 pm »
Earlier, I hadn't slept or eaten and probably made a balls of the setup which is why it didn't work with the standard DLP24 setup, it's working now.

Is there a complete list to all the functions supported?

With my fucking around, I've somehow managed to disable the bluetooth chip on the device! I don't really plan on using bluetooth to be honest, so not that worried, but I'd love to turn it back on just to have it.
 

Offline Pukker

  • Regular Contributor
  • *
  • Posts: 148
  • Country: nl
Re: Program that can log from many multimeters.
« Reply #2632 on: June 19, 2022, 09:09:31 am »
@ HKJ and others writing device file for DPS and DPH supplies.
Thanks for that.

Added metadef for the DPS5015. Working.

#metadef
#idString Riden,Riden DPS5015
#name Riden DPS5015
#handle DPS5015
#author aszasza + rachdatu
#replacetext ModelId 5015
;#removeline 12A
#replaceText MaxCurrent 15.0
#replaceText MaxVoltage 50.00
#replaceText MaxOPP 600
#replaceText MaxOCP 15.1
#replaceText MaxOVP 51
#replaceText CurrentScaleFactor 100 (thought this would solve the current setting problem, but NO)

Removeline 12A can here be removed.

Had wrong current setting (10 times to low)
Tried "#replaceText CurrentScaleFactor 100"
Doesn't fix.

so:
Had to change:

; Current setting R/W
#scpiCmd ISet? holding? 0x01 /1000
#scpiCmd ISet holding 0x01 (value) *1000

to

; Current setting R/W
#scpiCmd ISet? holding? 0x01 /100
#scpiCmd ISet holding 0x01 (value) *100

for correct current settings.
Also had to change the 1000 factor to 100 in further settings.

I know/think for 5005 and other units this will be wrong.
How to make that changing according the actual unit, I don't know.

edit: I found it: no change to 1000 or 100, but to currenscalefactor. Works

About settings:
at #cmdSetup combobox Memory Main:
When selecting Mem no. reading out settings is OK,
but voltage settings then also changing to an undefinied setting.
Writing settings is OK.

Selecting en setting memory from Main tab works OK.

Sorry writing and talking according my IQ.
« Last Edit: June 19, 2022, 10:28:08 am by Pukker »
 

Offline HKJTopic starter

  • Super Contributor
  • ***
  • Posts: 2904
  • Country: dk
    • Tests
Re: Program that can log from many multimeters.
« Reply #2633 on: June 19, 2022, 11:14:54 am »
Added metadef for the DPS5015. Working.

Had wrong current setting (10 times to low)

I included your definition and I have added CurrentScaleFactor to all current settings. That is reading the actual values, ISET, SCPICmd ISet & MI.

Please check the modified definition
 

Offline Pukker

  • Regular Contributor
  • *
  • Posts: 148
  • Country: nl
Re: Program that can log from many multimeters.
« Reply #2634 on: June 19, 2022, 12:10:18 pm »
Added metadef for the DPS5015. Working.

Had wrong current setting (10 times to low)

I included your definition and I have added CurrentScaleFactor to all current settings. That is reading the actual values, ISET, SCPICmd ISet & MI.

Please check the modified definition

Checked as you ordered sir.  ;D
I also added CurrentScaleFactor to some settings left behind like OCP setting etc.
i.m.o. everything now correct.

Don't have one, but the definition for DPH5205? Should that be DPH3205? 32V / 5A
Couldn't find them on the internet, Riden official store also does not offer DPH5205

Was so crude to make that changes in the defenition file.

Made also some #removelines according the different specifications.
« Last Edit: June 19, 2022, 12:19:13 pm by Pukker »
 

Offline HKJTopic starter

  • Super Contributor
  • ***
  • Posts: 2904
  • Country: dk
    • Tests
Re: Program that can log from many multimeters.
« Reply #2635 on: June 19, 2022, 01:24:21 pm »
Checked as you ordered sir.  ;D
I also added CurrentScaleFactor to some settings left behind like OCP setting etc.
i.m.o. everything now correct.

Don't have one, but the definition for DPH5205? Should that be DPH3205? 32V / 5A
Couldn't find them on the internet, Riden official store also does not offer DPH5205

Was so crude to make that changes in the defenition file.

Made also some #removelines according the different specifications.

I will user your definition file, but I believe that some of the CurrentScaleFactor has to 1000

You also restored the values? command to use /1000, that cannot be correct when the iset and iout command uses the scale.

I wonder about the DPH5205, maybe it is a never version of the DPH5005 (The original filename). If the original author sees our discussion here he can chime in.
« Last Edit: June 19, 2022, 01:29:08 pm by HKJ »
 

Offline Pukker

  • Regular Contributor
  • *
  • Posts: 148
  • Country: nl
Re: Program that can log from many multimeters.
« Reply #2636 on: June 19, 2022, 02:04:34 pm »

I will user your definition file, but I believe that some of the CurrentScaleFactor has to 1000

You also restored the values? command to use /1000, that cannot be correct when the iset and iout command uses the scale.

I wonder about the DPH5205, maybe it is a never version of the DPH5005 (The original filename). If the original author sees our discussion here he can chime in.

Yes, you are right, for lower current versions, CurrentScaleFactor must be 1000.
Have only DPS5015, so could not check others in real life.
about the values? You mean?

; VSet, ISet, VOut, IOut, Power
#scpiCmd values? holding? 0x00 /100;holding? 0x01 /CurrentScaleFactor;holding? 0x02 /100;holding? 0x03 /CurrentScaleFactor;holding? 0x04 /100

You have right.

Tested all as far I know, works fine (DPS5015) exept the tab for Memory settings.
Settings made there working fine, exept when you call an desired Memory number from drop-down menu, then the actual voltage setting on the DPS goes wrong.
Stored memory settings are fine. In the main tab you can recall them perfect.
 

Offline HKJTopic starter

  • Super Contributor
  • ***
  • Posts: 2904
  • Country: dk
    • Tests
Re: Program that can log from many multimeters.
« Reply #2637 on: June 19, 2022, 02:32:06 pm »
Tested all as far I know, works fine (DPS5015) exept the tab for Memory settings.
Settings made there working fine, exept when you call an desired Memory number from drop-down menu, then the actual voltage setting on the DPS goes wrong.
Stored memory settings are fine. In the main tab you can recall them perfect.

I cannot fix the memory stuff, I do not have this supply. Somebody with one has to do it.
 

Offline rachdatu

  • Regular Contributor
  • *
  • Posts: 54
  • Country: ch
Re: Program that can log from many multimeters.
« Reply #2638 on: June 19, 2022, 04:47:15 pm »
Checked as you ordered sir.  ;D
I also added CurrentScaleFactor to some settings left behind like OCP setting etc.
i.m.o. everything now correct.

Don't have one, but the definition for DPH5205? Should that be DPH3205? 32V / 5A
Couldn't find them on the internet, Riden official store also does not offer DPH5205

Was so crude to make that changes in the defenition file.

Made also some #removelines according the different specifications.

I will user your definition file, but I believe that some of the CurrentScaleFactor has to 1000

You also restored the values? command to use /1000, that cannot be correct when the iset and iout command uses the scale.

I wonder about the DPH5205, maybe it is a never version of the DPH5005 (The original filename). If the original author sees our discussion here he can chime in.

It's a DPH5005...probably I made a typo. There are so many different models.
 

Online Chernobyl

  • Contributor
  • Posts: 15
  • Country: ca
Re: Program that can log from many multimeters.
« Reply #2639 on: June 19, 2022, 08:05:11 pm »
Is this a known limitation of TestController or something that can be fixed?

It is a known bug and I will fix it when I get a couple of GPIB devices connected to TC.
For now you will have to use a AR488 for each device.

As a suggestion, to allow you to debug your code, couldn't you trick TC into thinking you have multiple GPIB instruments in your personal lab by creating duplicate device entries? This would allow you to test the AR488/GPIB communications code without actually needing to have more than one instrument connected. Basically, something like the below. TC shouldn't know the difference - from it's perspective it's just alternately polling two devices - they just happen to have the same GPIB address. And the instrument itself shouldn't care (it doesn't know where the commands are coming from).

Thoughts - would this help you out?

 

Offline HKJTopic starter

  • Super Contributor
  • ***
  • Posts: 2904
  • Country: dk
    • Tests
Re: Program that can log from many multimeters.
« Reply #2640 on: June 20, 2022, 06:19:22 am »
It's a DPH5005...probably I made a typo. There are so many different models.

Then it looks like there is two model ideas for the DPH5005, I will call one of them DPH5005-A

Looking back I saw it was a DPS5005 and DPH5005, i.e. no problems with model names.
« Last Edit: June 20, 2022, 06:28:35 am by HKJ »
 

Offline HKJTopic starter

  • Super Contributor
  • ***
  • Posts: 2904
  • Country: dk
    • Tests
Re: Program that can log from many multimeters.
« Reply #2641 on: June 20, 2022, 06:21:01 am »
As a suggestion, to allow you to debug your code, couldn't you trick TC into thinking you have multiple GPIB instruments in your personal lab by creating duplicate device entries? This would allow you to test the AR488/GPIB communications code without actually needing to have more than one instrument connected. Basically, something like the below. TC shouldn't know the difference - from it's perspective it's just alternately polling two devices - they just happen to have the same GPIB address. And the instrument itself shouldn't care (it doesn't know where the commands are coming from).

Thoughts - would this help you out?

Maybe, but it will depend on where the bug in the GPIB driver is. The driver contains logic to switch GPIB settings for each device.
 

Offline rachdatu

  • Regular Contributor
  • *
  • Posts: 54
  • Country: ch
Re: Program that can log from many multimeters.
« Reply #2642 on: June 20, 2022, 01:17:29 pm »
Hello

I have decided to put in standby the definition file for my Hyperion charger. My main issue is to decode the CRC algorithm for this device.
Without knowing the algorithm, it's difficult (at least for me) to send any command to the device.
I have created a github page https://github.com/daturach/Documentation/wiki/Hyperion-Charger-and-Test-Controller-(TC)-application with some explanation of different functions. There are many more... :P
The definition file is there as well. You can still use it to log data; well, is this not the main purpose of TC ?  ;)
I will update this thread if there is anything new from me.

I have installed the program (Hyperion Control & Data Suite) that goes with the charger. So, I know all its possibilities!

Thanks to HKJ for his excellent support.  :-+

See you  :)

 

Offline HKJTopic starter

  • Super Contributor
  • ***
  • Posts: 2904
  • Country: dk
    • Tests
Re: Program that can log from many multimeters.
« Reply #2643 on: June 20, 2022, 01:36:56 pm »
I have decided to put in standby the definition file for my Hyperion charger. My main issue is to decode the CRC algorithm for this device.

Are you sure it is a CRC and not a simple checksum?
 

Offline rachdatu

  • Regular Contributor
  • *
  • Posts: 54
  • Country: ch
Re: Program that can log from many multimeters.
« Reply #2644 on: June 20, 2022, 04:44:20 pm »
I have decided to put in standby the definition file for my Hyperion charger. My main issue is to decode the CRC algorithm for this device.

Are you sure it is a CRC and not a simple checksum?

It's probably a simple checksum because for some of the commands it's pretty easy to guess it. But I did not find it easy enough to have something right for any commands.
Maybe we can reverse engineer it...I would not know. Sorry.
 

Offline Messtechniker

  • Frequent Contributor
  • **
  • Posts: 782
  • Country: de
  • Old analog audio hand - No voodoo.
Re: Program that can log from many multimeters.
« Reply #2645 on: June 25, 2022, 10:58:50 am »
Got myself a brand new spanking Peaktech 2025A.
Operating it with TCs Peaktech 2025 driver displays
the selected range but no output data.
So it basically connects.

Putty output is (for 969 Ohms):
+0969 3!H 
Repeated continuously.

CRLF is being used.

What needs to be done?

Moreover, not all function codes are the same between 2025 and 2025A.

« Last Edit: June 25, 2022, 12:43:21 pm by Messtechniker »
Agilent 34465A, Siglent SDG 2042X, Hameg HMO1022, R&S HMC 8043, Peaktech 2025A, Voltcraft VC 940, M-Audio Audiophile 192, R&S Psophometer UPGR, 3 Transistor Testers, DL4JAL Transistor Curve Tracer, UT622E LCR meter
 

Offline HKJTopic starter

  • Super Contributor
  • ***
  • Posts: 2904
  • Country: dk
    • Tests
Re: Program that can log from many multimeters.
« Reply #2646 on: June 25, 2022, 01:41:45 pm »
Got myself a brand new spanking Peaktech 2025A.
Operating it with TCs Peaktech 2025 driver displays
the selected range but no output data.
So it basically connects.

Putty output is (for 969 Ohms):
+0969 3!H 
Repeated continuously.

CRLF is being used.

What needs to be done?

It looks like I need to modify either "Single value" or "Block" driver.
Could you do a couple more measurements. I like to see reading of both high and low values to see how it sends it and both VDC and VAC would be nice.
 

Offline Messtechniker

  • Frequent Contributor
  • **
  • Posts: 782
  • Country: de
  • Old analog audio hand - No voodoo.
Re: Program that can log from many multimeters.
« Reply #2647 on: June 25, 2022, 02:22:36 pm »
Here the codes for resistance:

Reading   Code






For the weird chracater:
is seemingly decimal"1"

13 10 43 48 49 48 53 32 49 33 72 32 1 13 10

Some DC and AC voltages to follow soon
« Last Edit: June 25, 2022, 02:24:54 pm by Messtechniker »
Agilent 34465A, Siglent SDG 2042X, Hameg HMO1022, R&S HMC 8043, Peaktech 2025A, Voltcraft VC 940, M-Audio Audiophile 192, R&S Psophometer UPGR, 3 Transistor Testers, DL4JAL Transistor Curve Tracer, UT622E LCR meter
 

Offline HKJTopic starter

  • Super Contributor
  • ***
  • Posts: 2904
  • Country: dk
    • Tests
Re: Program that can log from many multimeters.
« Reply #2648 on: June 25, 2022, 02:38:03 pm »
Here the codes for resistance:

I can see some issues in it, you might try using hex mode to see if there are more invisible characters.

The first number is obvious the display reading followed by the location of the decimal point, but where is the range value, i.e. ohm/kohm/Mohm indication.
I hope the !H contains the selected mode.
 

Offline Messtechniker

  • Frequent Contributor
  • **
  • Posts: 782
  • Country: de
  • Old analog audio hand - No voodoo.
Re: Program that can log from many multimeters.
« Reply #2649 on: June 25, 2022, 02:48:27 pm »
More:


Must stop for now. More tomorrow in hex mode
Agilent 34465A, Siglent SDG 2042X, Hameg HMO1022, R&S HMC 8043, Peaktech 2025A, Voltcraft VC 940, M-Audio Audiophile 192, R&S Psophometer UPGR, 3 Transistor Testers, DL4JAL Transistor Curve Tracer, UT622E LCR meter
 


Share me

Digg  Facebook  SlashDot  Delicious  Technorati  Twitter  Google  Yahoo
Smf