Author Topic: Program that can log from many multimeters.  (Read 482253 times)

Craberry and 3 Guests are viewing this topic.

Offline MikeLud

  • Regular Contributor
  • *
  • Posts: 218
  • Country: us
Re: Program that can log from many multimeters.
« Reply #225 on: April 20, 2020, 01:40:05 pm »
HKJ,

Nice, thanks again.



MikeLud try remove "Mode" page selection after you #cmdSetup, then you will get the mode below all the pages.
 

Offline Marco1971

  • Contributor
  • Posts: 29
  • Country: it
Re: Program that can log from many multimeters.
« Reply #226 on: April 20, 2020, 01:40:25 pm »
With Fluke 287 (too high Baud rate for 89IV)...

";; Start thread for: COM1 - Fluke xxx
;; COM1: Set params: 115200
;; COM1: Tx: <ID.> 49 44 0D
;; COM1: Rx: timeout
;; COM1: Tx: <ID.> 49 44 0D
;; COM1: Rx: timeout
;; Stopping thread for: COM1 - Fluke xxx

;; Use "Load devices" page for selecting devices to load. Most devices will only load if they are connected and ready.
"

Marco
 

Offline HKJTopic starter

  • Super Contributor
  • ***
  • Posts: 2904
  • Country: dk
    • Tests
Re: Program that can log from many multimeters.
« Reply #227 on: April 20, 2020, 01:53:31 pm »
With Fluke 287 (too high Baud rate for 89IV)...

I checked the documentation and it has to use Fluke89 setting, but try opening the "FlukeDMM18x28x.txt" file and change the #baudrate setting for Fluke 89 to "#baudrate 9600n81dR" or maybe "#baudrate 9600n81Dr"
« Last Edit: April 20, 2020, 02:11:33 pm by HKJ »
 
The following users thanked this post: Marco1971

Offline HKJTopic starter

  • Super Contributor
  • ***
  • Posts: 2904
  • Country: dk
    • Tests
Re: Program that can log from many multimeters.
« Reply #228 on: April 20, 2020, 02:03:35 pm »

Nice, thanks again.


You can also map the mode text, but it will be a fairly long line, let me show it as two lines first:

First you convert the received value to a number with this statement:
index=listIndex(value,"DIOD VOLT VOLT:AC ....."," ");

Then you convert the number back to a text with this statement:
getElement("Diode;VOLT DC;VOLT AC;...",index,";");

These two statement must be packed on one line in a :readmath: tag:
:readmath: getElement("Diode;VOLT DC;VOLT AC;...",listIndex(value,"DIOD VOLT VOLT:AC ....."," "),";");
 

Offline MikeLud

  • Regular Contributor
  • *
  • Posts: 218
  • Country: us
Re: Program that can log from many multimeters.
« Reply #229 on: April 20, 2020, 02:26:24 pm »
HKJ,

I will try later today, time for my real job.


Nice, thanks again.


You can also map the mode text, but it will be a fairly long line, let me show it as two lines first:

First you convert the received value to a number with this statement:
index=listIndex(value,"DIOD VOLT VOLT:AC ....."," ");

Then you convert the number back to a text with this statement:
getElement("Diode;VOLT DC;VOLT AC;...",index,";");

These two statement must be packed on one line in a :readmath: tag:
:readmath: getElement("Diode;VOLT DC;VOLT AC;...",listIndex(value,"DIOD VOLT VOLT:AC ....."," "),";");
 

Offline Messtechniker

  • Frequent Contributor
  • **
  • Posts: 781
  • Country: de
  • Old analog audio hand - No voodoo.
Re: Program that can log from many multimeters.
« Reply #230 on: April 20, 2020, 02:52:13 pm »
Messtechniker try this definition file: http://lygte-info.dk/pic/Projects/TestController/R%26SHMC8043.txt
I change column selection a bit and because you had selectors in the #value lines, the columns was not selected.
This definition file works with ver 036.

Next thing:
trying to implement"tracking" of ch1 and ch2.

For reference: this switches CH1 and CH2 on and off simultaneously :)
#cmdSetup buttonsOn Output Outputs_1_2
:read: INST OUT1;OUTP?
:write: INST OUT1;OUTP:CHAN ON;:INST OUT2;OUTP:CHAN ON;:OUTP:MAST
:tip: Turn output on or off
:updatealloff:
Off 0
On 1

But I have not yet found a way where :write: ... ;VOLT will set the voltage for both CH1 and CH2 simultaneously. VOLT will always apply to one channel only. Possibly a restriction of the SCPI command syntax. There is apparently no SCPI TRACK command here. Have thought as an alternative about invoking a saved configuration (*SAV0 and then *RCL0) but this does not work either. Perhaps someone has any ideas? Would be  8)
Agilent 34465A, Siglent SDG 2042X, Hameg HMO1022, R&S HMC 8043, Peaktech 2025A, Voltcraft VC 940, M-Audio Audiophile 192, R&S Psophometer UPGR, 3 Transistor Testers, DL4JAL Transistor Curve Tracer, UT622E LCR meter
 

Offline Marco1971

  • Contributor
  • Posts: 29
  • Country: it
Re: Program that can log from many multimeters.
« Reply #231 on: April 20, 2020, 02:55:15 pm »
With Fluke 287 (too high Baud rate for 89IV)...

I checked the documentation and it has to use Fluke89 setting, but try opening the "FlukeDMM18x28x.txt" file and change the #baudrate setting for Fluke 89 to "#baudrate 9600n81dR" or maybe "#baudrate 9600n81Dr"

";; Start thread for: COM1
;; COM1: Set params: 9600
;; COM1: Tx: <*IDN?.> 2A 49 44 4E 3F 0A
;; COM1: Rx: timeout
;; COM1: Tx: <*IDN?.> 2A 49 44 4E 3F 0A
;; COM1: Rx: timeout
;; Stopping thread for: COM1

;; Use "Load devices" page for selecting devices to load. Most devices will only load if they are connected and ready.
"

Marco
 

Offline HKJTopic starter

  • Super Contributor
  • ***
  • Posts: 2904
  • Country: dk
    • Tests
Re: Program that can log from many multimeters.
« Reply #232 on: April 20, 2020, 03:14:12 pm »

";; Start thread for: COM1
;; COM1: Set params: 9600
;; COM1: Tx: <*IDN?.> 2A 49 44 4E 3F 0A
;; COM1: Rx: timeout
;; COM1: Tx: <*IDN?.> 2A 49 44 4E 3F 0A
;; COM1: Rx: timeout
;; Stopping thread for: COM1

;; Use "Load devices" page for selecting devices to load. Most devices will only load if they are connected and ready.
"

Something is wrong, you are not using the Fluke driver, but the SCPI driver
 
The following users thanked this post: Marco1971

Offline HKJTopic starter

  • Super Contributor
  • ***
  • Posts: 2904
  • Country: dk
    • Tests
Re: Program that can log from many multimeters.
« Reply #233 on: April 20, 2020, 03:23:40 pm »

But I have not yet found a way where :write: ... ;VOLT will set the voltage for both CH1 and CH2 simultaneously. VOLT will always apply to one channel only. Possibly a restriction of the SCPI command syntax. There is apparently no SCPI TRACK command here. Have thought as an alternative about invoking a saved configuration (*SAV0 and then *RCL0) but this does not work either. Perhaps someone has any ideas? Would be  8)

You can control the placement of the parameter by using a #
:write: INST OUT1;VOLT #;INST OUT2;VOLT #

But for this to be useful you would need a extra page to control two channels.


 

Offline PushUp

  • Regular Contributor
  • *
  • Posts: 173
  • Country: de
Re: Program that can log from many multimeters.
« Reply #234 on: April 20, 2020, 04:58:51 pm »
There seems to be a difference between 0.32 vs. 0.36 as far as Brymen detection on a Windows OS is concerned?!

0.32 - immediate detection, after adding DMM
0.36 - no detection, despite adding DMM


It is brilliant, that you have implemented a custom size-option for saving an image. You can save the chart in any width you like, to have a better reading by expanding the png format in the width.
However, this custom size is resetted to 1000x500 after the next start. Is this also possible that the "Custom Save png-format" option is kept even after next start, for example: Custom 10000x1080 for ever referring to Chart and Histogram till you change it again to your preferred setting?
 

Offline HKJTopic starter

  • Super Contributor
  • ***
  • Posts: 2904
  • Country: dk
    • Tests
Re: Program that can log from many multimeters.
« Reply #235 on: April 20, 2020, 06:37:23 pm »
There seems to be a difference between 0.32 vs. 0.36 as far as Brymen detection on a Windows OS is concerned?!

0.32 - immediate detection, after adding DMM
0.36 - no detection, despite adding DMM

I was doing some experiments with the HID driver, but forgot to restore it to working state, it is working now.

It is brilliant, that you have implemented a custom size-option for saving an image. You can save the chart in any width you like, to have a better reading by expanding the png format in the width.
However, this custom size is resetted to 1000x500 after the next start. Is this also possible that the "Custom Save png-format" option is kept even after next start, for example: Custom 10000x1080 for ever referring to Chart and Histogram till you change it again to your preferred setting?

I like having most options going back to default, but lets see of more people have any opinion about this.

V0.37 is up, it have a minor changes and one major new feature.
I have removed the automatic focus of popup windows, but a right click on the popups button will do it (It is in the tooltip).

It is possible to use digital channels now, these all share the same scale on the chart and that means it is possible to have many of them.
There are two way to get digital channels:
1) Devices with digital channels, only one at the current time is "HKJ Relay" (See: https://lygte-info.dk/project/SSRelay%20UK.html), but it is possible to define them in SCPI definitions.
2) Math, there is a "Digital" function (Samples is used a bits). It will use the value as a bits in a integer. Using a expression like: "PS.Voltage>4.9" is a 1 bit digital channel when "Digital" is selected with samples=1.

Digital channels are excluded from some functions.
 
The following users thanked this post: Marco1971

Offline Hexley

  • Regular Contributor
  • *
  • Posts: 197
  • Country: us
Re: Program that can log from many multimeters.
« Reply #236 on: April 20, 2020, 07:06:35 pm »
Hi Henrik -
Here is the Device file for a GW Instek GPP-4323 four-channel power supply. This has been tested with the LAN interface.

The file is very much version 1.0, and does not support some of the more advanced features of the supply, like series or parallel mode for Channel 1/Channel2.

It also does not support the Load mode for Channels 1 and 2. Pity, but that seems tough to integrate into a single Device file (that is, if the device file also supports the normal power supply mode.) Maybe I'll do a separate device file for the GPP-4323 as an active load rather than a power supply, and then one could choose either power supply or active load instances. Though that seems a bit crude. We will see...

Thanks for the great work on TestController.
 

Offline HKJTopic starter

  • Super Contributor
  • ***
  • Posts: 2904
  • Country: dk
    • Tests
Re: Program that can log from many multimeters.
« Reply #237 on: April 20, 2020, 07:21:59 pm »
Here is the Device file for a GW Instek GPP-4323 four-channel power supply. This has been tested with the LAN interface.

It will be included in the next release. I have added a "#author Hexley" to the file.

It also does not support the Load mode for Channels 1 and 2. Pity, but that seems tough to integrate into a single Device file (that is, if the device file also supports the normal power supply mode.) Maybe I'll do a separate device file for the GPP-4323 as an active load rather than a power supply, and then one could choose either power supply or active load instances. Though that seems a bit crude. We will see...

I am thinking if it would be a good idea to add a "Extra" popup menu using same format as the "Setup" menu. That menu would then use a separate definition file, maybe a possibility to select between multiple files (In a similar way to the log button).
 

Offline Messtechniker

  • Frequent Contributor
  • **
  • Posts: 781
  • Country: de
  • Old analog audio hand - No voodoo.
Re: Program that can log from many multimeters.
« Reply #238 on: April 20, 2020, 08:22:07 pm »
 ... and now the next HMC 8043 definition file (Ver. 0.6). Now the popup includes voltage and current tacking for channels 1 and 2. There is one minor quirk: the red light once it is on, stays on regardless of output switch ON or OFF. Everything else works as intended. i.e. I have almost flogged my three resistors to death. :)
Agilent 34465A, Siglent SDG 2042X, Hameg HMO1022, R&S HMC 8043, Peaktech 2025A, Voltcraft VC 940, M-Audio Audiophile 192, R&S Psophometer UPGR, 3 Transistor Testers, DL4JAL Transistor Curve Tracer, UT622E LCR meter
 

Offline klausES

  • Regular Contributor
  • *
  • Posts: 226
  • Country: de
  • restore Sony ES/Esprit era
Re: Program that can log from many multimeters.
« Reply #239 on: April 20, 2020, 08:32:25 pm »
...After I finish the SDM3065X device file I will work on the other two Siglent DMM files...
I hope this.  ^-^
regards klaus. "Art is when you can't do it ... because if you can, it's not art"
 

Offline HKJTopic starter

  • Super Contributor
  • ***
  • Posts: 2904
  • Country: dk
    • Tests
Re: Program that can log from many multimeters.
« Reply #240 on: April 20, 2020, 08:40:02 pm »
... and now the next HMC 8043 definition file (Ver. 0.6). Now the popup includes voltage and current tacking for channels 1 and 2. There is one minor quirk: the red light once it is on, stays on regardless of output switch ON or OFF. Everything else works as intended. i.e. I have almost flogged my three resistors to death. :)

I have updated the definition, it will be included in next release.
 
The following users thanked this post: Marco1971

Offline masterx81

  • Frequent Contributor
  • **
  • Posts: 480
  • Country: it
Re: Program that can log from many multimeters.
« Reply #241 on: April 20, 2020, 11:22:58 pm »
As i've seen other users with troubles on fluke 89iv i've done some tests of the 87iv, and it works perfectly (freshly downloaded lastest version). I'm surpised that it not work on 89iv as it's almost the same thing (need to confirm but seem only a value in an eeprom, hardware side are identical).
The only "glitch" is that it not senses the switch from *C and *F in temperature, for who uses *F.

Other thing, not work on older java versions. I have a windows xp with java 1.8.0.74 and the serial interface not work.

I've seen the new driver for "single value" multimeters. I think that is perfect for my protek 506! Tomorrow i'll play a bit
« Last Edit: April 20, 2020, 11:41:13 pm by masterx81 »
 
The following users thanked this post: Marco1971

Offline PushUp

  • Regular Contributor
  • *
  • Posts: 173
  • Country: de
Re: Program that can log from many multimeters.
« Reply #242 on: April 20, 2020, 11:59:59 pm »

I was doing some experiments with the HID driver, but forgot to restore it to working state, it is working now.


Thanx - 0.37 works again with Brymen using Windows OS!  :-+

Using Ubuntu I am not able to fetch the usb port of Brymen's usb adaptor, thus it is impossible for me to debug anything within TestController...

ubuntu@ubuntu:~$ sudo usbhid-dump -m 0820:0001 -es
Starting dumping interrupt transfer stream
with 1 minute timeout.

003:028:000:Interrupt transfer timed out
No more interfaces to dump


As far as Linux is concerned - maybe you can have a look at this list, showing Brymen's usb interface values:

lsusb -vvv

Bus 003 Device 028: ID 0820:0001 
Couldn't open device, some information will be missing
Device Descriptor:
  bLength                18
  bDescriptorType         1
  bcdUSB               2.00
  bDeviceClass            0 (Defined at Interface level)
  bDeviceSubClass         0
  bDeviceProtocol         0
  bMaxPacketSize0         8
  idVendor           0x0820
  idProduct          0x0001
  bcdDevice           86.05
  iManufacturer           1
  iProduct                2
  iSerial                 3
  bNumConfigurations      1
  Configuration Descriptor:
    bLength                 9
    bDescriptorType         2
    wTotalLength           41
    bNumInterfaces          1
    bConfigurationValue     1
    iConfiguration          0
    bmAttributes         0xc0
      Self Powered
    MaxPower              100mA
    Interface Descriptor:
      bLength                 9
      bDescriptorType         4
      bInterfaceNumber        0
      bAlternateSetting       0
      bNumEndpoints           2
      bInterfaceClass         3 Human Interface Device
      bInterfaceSubClass      0 No Subclass
      bInterfaceProtocol      0 None
      iInterface              0
        HID Device Descriptor:
          bLength                 9
          bDescriptorType        33
          bcdHID               1.11
          bCountryCode            0 Not supported
          bNumDescriptors         1
          bDescriptorType        34 Report
          wDescriptorLength      30
         Report Descriptors:
           ** UNAVAILABLE **
      Endpoint Descriptor:
        bLength                 7
        bDescriptorType         5
        bEndpointAddress     0x81  EP 1 IN
        bmAttributes            3
          Transfer Type            Interrupt
          Synch Type               None
          Usage Type               Data
        wMaxPacketSize     0x0040  1x 64 bytes
        bInterval               1
      Endpoint Descriptor:
        bLength                 7
        bDescriptorType         5
        bEndpointAddress     0x01  EP 1 OUT
        bmAttributes            3
          Transfer Type            Interrupt
          Synch Type               None
          Usage Type               Data
        wMaxPacketSize     0x0040  1x 64 bytes
        bInterval               1


« Last Edit: April 21, 2020, 12:26:35 am by PushUp »
 

Offline MikeLud

  • Regular Contributor
  • *
  • Posts: 218
  • Country: us
Re: Program that can log from many multimeters.
« Reply #243 on: April 21, 2020, 01:47:53 am »
Attached is an updated Advanced Siglent SDM3065X device file. It is 99% finished, all that is left is to update the :tip: tags. Anyone that has a Siglent SDM3065X please test it and let me know if there are any issues.



« Last Edit: April 21, 2020, 01:51:37 am by MikeLud »
 

Offline HKJTopic starter

  • Super Contributor
  • ***
  • Posts: 2904
  • Country: dk
    • Tests
Re: Program that can log from many multimeters.
« Reply #244 on: April 21, 2020, 05:02:00 am »
As i've seen other users with troubles on fluke 89iv i've done some tests of the 87iv, and it works perfectly (freshly downloaded lastest version). I'm surpised that it not work on 89iv as it's almost the same thing (need to confirm but seem only a value in an eeprom, hardware side are identical).

It is probably a interface issue, from the Fluke documentation:

Communication Protocol (model 89-IV and 87-IV)
The Fluke 89-IV and 87-IV have an infrared (IR) serial interface that is operated in an RS-232
mode:
• 9600 Baud, no parity, 8 bits, 1 stop bit
The IR adapter cable used with the 89-IV and 87-IV gets its power from the DTR and RTS
signals going into its DB9 connector. The PC RS-232 communications port needs to control
these two signal lines via software, or they can be controlled by wiring in an external power
source. If you wire in an external power source, be sure to break the DTR and RTS signal lines
going back to the PC. The DB9 connector on the IR adapter cable needs to have the following
lines with the following voltages applied:
• DTR disabled - pin 4 with -3 to -12 volts (or tied to pin 5, Ground, will work also)
• RTS enabled - pin 7 with +3 to +12 volts


The only "glitch" is that it not senses the switch from *C and *F in temperature, for who uses *F.

Not exactly a glitch, the display in TestController is in Celsius.


Other thing, not work on older java versions. I have a windows xp with java 1.8.0.74 and the serial interface not work.

That is strange.

I've seen the new driver for "single value" multimeters. I think that is perfect for my protek 506! Tomorrow i'll play a bit

I hope so, your Protek 506 documentation was one of the inputs I used while writing it.

 
The following users thanked this post: Marco1971

Offline HKJTopic starter

  • Super Contributor
  • ***
  • Posts: 2904
  • Country: dk
    • Tests
Re: Program that can log from many multimeters.
« Reply #245 on: April 21, 2020, 05:04:39 am »

Using Ubuntu I am not able to fetch the usb port of Brymen's usb adaptor, thus it is impossible for me to debug anything within TestController...


I will have to look more at linux, maybe the hid4jave works on linux.
 

Offline HKJTopic starter

  • Super Contributor
  • ***
  • Posts: 2904
  • Country: dk
    • Tests
Re: Program that can log from many multimeters.
« Reply #246 on: April 21, 2020, 05:06:41 am »
Attached is an updated Advanced Siglent SDM3065X device file. It is 99% finished, all that is left is to update the :tip: tags. Anyone that has a Siglent SDM3065X please test it and let me know if there are any issues.

I have updated it for next release.
 

Offline masterx81

  • Frequent Contributor
  • **
  • Posts: 480
  • Country: it
Re: Program that can log from many multimeters.
« Reply #247 on: April 21, 2020, 11:28:20 am »
Other thing, not work on older java versions. I have a windows xp with java 1.8.0.74 and the serial interface not work.

That is strange.

This is the error:
Code: [Select]
Exception in thread "Thread-2" java.lang.UnsatisfiedLinkError: C:\Documents and
Settings\User\Impostazioni locali\temp\1587468243109-jSerialComm.d
ll: Impossibile trovare la procedura specificata
        at java.lang.ClassLoader$NativeLibrary.load(Native Method)
        at java.lang.ClassLoader.loadLibrary0(Unknown Source)
        at java.lang.ClassLoader.loadLibrary(Unknown Source)
        at java.lang.Runtime.load0(Unknown Source)
        at java.lang.System.load(Unknown Source)
        at com.fazecast.jSerialComm.SerialPort.<clinit>(SerialPort.java:244)
        at dk.hkj.comm.SerialInterface.getSerialPorts(SerialInterface.java:245)
        at dk.hkj.main.InterfaceThreads$ScanPorts.run(InterfaceThreads.java:518)

Sorry for the localized version of it...
 

Offline HKJTopic starter

  • Super Contributor
  • ***
  • Posts: 2904
  • Country: dk
    • Tests
Re: Program that can log from many multimeters.
« Reply #248 on: April 21, 2020, 12:03:32 pm »
This is the error:
...


Could it be security settings on you machine? The serial library has some native code inside that I believe it will copy to somewhere in the file system, before using it.
 

Offline masterx81

  • Frequent Contributor
  • **
  • Posts: 480
  • Country: it
Re: Program that can log from many multimeters.
« Reply #249 on: April 21, 2020, 12:21:29 pm »
Uhm, i've reset the java security options and set it to the lowest possible setting. The file exists in the temp directory. Maybe the sw try to use it before it's copied in the temp folder?
 


Share me

Digg  Facebook  SlashDot  Delicious  Technorati  Twitter  Google  Yahoo
Smf