Author Topic: Program that can log from many multimeters.  (Read 483223 times)

0 Members and 3 Guests are viewing this topic.

Offline HKJTopic starter

  • Super Contributor
  • ***
  • Posts: 2904
  • Country: dk
    • Tests
Re: Program that can log from many multimeters.
« Reply #675 on: June 03, 2020, 07:38:07 am »
Meanwhile, how do I re-scale the Y-axis on the Chart window?

Depends:
You can always type start and end samples/times in the two boxes.
When using "Time" as axis you can click on the chart to get a cursor, then right click to get a zoom menu.
When using other scales you have to adjust it in "Scales for chart"

X-axis is always adjusted in "Scales for chart"
 

Offline Messtechniker

  • Frequent Contributor
  • **
  • Posts: 781
  • Country: de
  • Old analog audio hand - No voodoo.
Re: Program that can log from many multimeters.
« Reply #676 on: June 03, 2020, 01:52:24 pm »
Just used the xy capability to log tracking of ganged pots.
Shown are the basic measurement circuit and the results for a dual 10k logarithmic pot which is in spec +/- 3 dB and a dual 22k linear pot. The X-scale is actually in dB.
Great fun. :-+

 
Agilent 34465A, Siglent SDG 2042X, Hameg HMO1022, R&S HMC 8043, Peaktech 2025A, Voltcraft VC 940, M-Audio Audiophile 192, R&S Psophometer UPGR, 3 Transistor Testers, DL4JAL Transistor Curve Tracer, UT622E LCR meter
 

Offline enut11

  • Frequent Contributor
  • **
  • Posts: 952
  • Country: au
  • Love building/modifying/restoring test equipment
Re: Program that can log from many multimeters.
« Reply #677 on: June 03, 2020, 09:33:47 pm »
Meanwhile, how do I re-scale the Y-axis on the Chart window?

Depends:
You can always type start and end samples/times in the two boxes.
When using "Time" as axis you can click on the chart to get a cursor, then right click to get a zoom menu.
When using other scales you have to adjust it in "Scales for chart"

X-axis is always adjusted in "Scales for chart"

Thank you for that.

I am now setting up a Keysight 34461A DMM which is connected via USB to my PC (USB 2.0 TMC488 & MTP protocol).
How do I set the port ID for this meter?
« Last Edit: June 03, 2020, 11:59:54 pm by enut11 »
an electronics nut from wayback...
 

Offline HKJTopic starter

  • Super Contributor
  • ***
  • Posts: 2904
  • Country: dk
    • Tests
Re: Program that can log from many multimeters.
« Reply #678 on: June 04, 2020, 04:05:04 am »
I am now setting up a Keysight 34461A DMM which is connected via USB to my PC (USB 2.0 TMC488 & MTP protocol).
How do I set the port ID for this meter?

At the current time I do not support USB TMC, use a network connection.
 

Offline HKJTopic starter

  • Super Contributor
  • ***
  • Posts: 2904
  • Country: dk
    • Tests
Re: Program that can log from many multimeters.
« Reply #679 on: June 04, 2020, 12:40:29 pm »
One thing I plan on implementing is support GPIB interface.
I have looked at AR488: https://github.com/Twilight-Logic/AR488
That is a never implementation of http://egirland.blogspot.com/2014/03/arduino-uno-as-usb-to-gpib-controller.html
That again is based on some GPIB interface (Prologix) that uses ++ as command escape.

The hardware is a Arduino and a GPIB connector or cable. I have lots of Arduinos, but it may take more than two months to get a GPIB cable (Ebay often takes that long).

It will be possible to add multiple GPIB adapters and each adapter can support one or more devices.

The idea is a list of GPIB adapters and then you specify adapter name (here A) and GPIB address:


Then there is a separate configuration to define all the connected GPIB adapters:


From next version it will be possible to list multiple interfaces/ports for a device, i.e. it can both have usb, socket and GPIB with the same definition.

It may also be possible to support other adapters, but it will not be customable, I need to have the adapter and do some programming.

NOTE: The above it not available in the current or next couple of version of testController.


Any comments or ideas?
« Last Edit: June 04, 2020, 12:57:55 pm by HKJ »
 
The following users thanked this post: Marco1971

Offline Hexley

  • Regular Contributor
  • *
  • Posts: 197
  • Country: us
Re: Program that can log from many multimeters.
« Reply #680 on: June 04, 2020, 04:09:23 pm »
One thing I plan on implementing is support GPIB interface.
...
Any comments or ideas?

Comments:

1. Support for GPIB would be very useful.
2. The National Instruments GPIB controllers are also popular. One that is frequently mentioned is  the NI-GPIB-USB-HS. I have one that you are welcome to use for development, though shipping from the States to Denmark is not ideal.
3. The Prologix and NI adapters for GPIB-USB would have to be plugged into the machine running TestController in order to access the USB port. Any plans to support **remote** GPIB adapters? That is, having TestController run on a network machine rather than on the machine with the controller itself?

Regards,
Hexley
 

Offline HKJTopic starter

  • Super Contributor
  • ***
  • Posts: 2904
  • Country: dk
    • Tests
Re: Program that can log from many multimeters.
« Reply #681 on: June 04, 2020, 04:53:56 pm »

In some of my old equipment I found a PrologixEthernet interface, with this as test I expect to make PrologixUSB, PrologicEthernet and AR488 interfaces. I will first be able to test the AR488 interface when I get a cable.

2. The National Instruments GPIB controllers are also popular. One that is frequently mentioned is  the NI-GPIB-USB-HS. I have one that you are welcome to use for development, though shipping from the States to Denmark is not ideal.

With USB interfaces I can only handle the types that uses a virtual serial port. What do this interface do?

3. The Prologix and NI adapters for GPIB-USB would have to be plugged into the machine running TestController in order to access the USB port. Any plans to support **remote** GPIB adapters? That is, having TestController run on a network machine rather than on the machine with the controller itself?

I suppose with the PrologixEthernet it may be possible to do some remote interface. I could also make a version of AR488 that uses a network connection (That would be fairly easy).
Then you only need a small driver that copies data directly between USB and a socket. I do not know if something like this already exists, but it would be easy to do in Java.
 

Offline Hexley

  • Regular Contributor
  • *
  • Posts: 197
  • Country: us
Re: Program that can log from many multimeters.
« Reply #682 on: June 04, 2020, 05:08:55 pm »

2. The National Instruments GPIB controllers are also popular. One that is frequently mentioned is  the NI-GPIB-USB-HS. I have one that you are welcome to use for development, though shipping from the States to Denmark is not ideal.

With USB interfaces I can only handle the types that uses a virtual serial port. What do this interface do?

The NI interface uses their NI-488.2 driver package, not a virtual serial port. So maybe not a good fit for TestController; better for LabView I guess.

I suppose with the PrologixEthernet it may be possible to do some remote interface. I could also make a version of AR488 that uses a network connection (That would be fairly easy).
Then you only need a small driver that copies data directly between USB and a socket. I do not know if something like this already exists, but it would be easy to do in Java.

A networked version of the AR488 plus a little Java driver sounds ideal.  :-+
 

Offline HKJTopic starter

  • Super Contributor
  • ***
  • Posts: 2904
  • Country: dk
    • Tests
Re: Program that can log from many multimeters.
« Reply #683 on: June 06, 2020, 06:16:58 am »
V0.76 is up.

With these changes:
   Added scroll bars to notes popup.
   It is possible to define multiple port types for a device (They must all be listed on the same line)
   Added voltage divider functions function to calculator: vdiv() & vdiv2().
   Restored cursor for all time based columns.
   Added support for GPIB using either Prologix or AR488 adapters (AR488 is a super set of Prologix, it is DIY and requires a Arduino and a GPIB cable/connector).

When using GPIB the address field must be GPIB adapter id (Defined on the GPIB popup), a colon and the GPIB address of the device. This could be A:5 for the first adapter and GPIB address 5. The id do not have to be a single letter, it can be changed on the GPIB popup.
The Settings column on the GPIB popup can be used for commands to the adapter, use ; between multiple commands. If some devices requires commands here, I would like to hear about it, I may have to make that command supported in the device configuration.

The GPIB interface is only tested with a Prologix Ethernet adapter, it will still be months before I can check the AR488, but because it is basically the same as Prologix I hope it will work.



 
The following users thanked this post: tubularnut, Marco1971, MikeLud

Offline HKJTopic starter

  • Super Contributor
  • ***
  • Posts: 2904
  • Country: dk
    • Tests
Re: Program that can log from many multimeters.
« Reply #684 on: June 06, 2020, 08:19:38 am »
I forgot to add:

To use the GPIB on existing devices the definition file have to be edited.
Find the "#port xxxx" definition and add GPIB to it: "#port xxxx GPIB"
It may also be possible to add LXI to the line: "#port xxxx LXI GPIB", this has nothing to do with GPIB, but it another way to connect through a network.

If getting either LXI or GPIB to work on a existing device, please post a line here with the device filename and the #port line used, then I can update the original.
 

Offline Marco1971

  • Contributor
  • Posts: 29
  • Country: it
Re: Program that can log from many multimeters.
« Reply #685 on: June 06, 2020, 09:02:54 am »
Hi all...i've got a 61B version that it's recognized as "61E" but still in timing out conditions (physical RS232C port derived from Intel ICH7R).

Marco1971
« Last Edit: June 06, 2020, 09:17:39 am by Marco1971 »
 

Offline HKJTopic starter

  • Super Contributor
  • ***
  • Posts: 2904
  • Country: dk
    • Tests
Re: Program that can log from many multimeters.
« Reply #686 on: June 06, 2020, 09:31:59 am »
Hi all...i've got a 61B version that it's recognized as "61E" but still in timing out conditions (physical RS232C port derived from Intel ICH7R).

I supposed you mean UNI-T 61B, the meter is not support and it is nothing like the UNI-T 61E.
The data is a encoding of the segments on the display, this means I need a meter with this chip to make a decoder for it.
 
The following users thanked this post: Marco1971

Offline The Soulman

  • Frequent Contributor
  • **
  • Posts: 949
  • Country: nl
  • The sky is the limit!
Re: Program that can log from many multimeters.
« Reply #687 on: June 06, 2020, 10:28:52 am »
Hi all...i've got a 61B version that it's recognized as "61E" but still in timing out conditions (physical RS232C port derived from Intel ICH7R).

I supposed you mean UNI-T 61B, the meter is not support and it is nothing like the UNI-T 61E.
The data is a encoding of the segments on the display, this means I need a meter with this chip to make a decoder for it.

The uni-t 61B uses the fortune fs9922 dmm3 (4000 count) chip, from my experience the fs9922 dmm4 (6000 count) uses the same serial protocol.
These chips are in a whole lot of handheld dmm's, I have meters with both chips.
If you want I could test your code.
 
The following users thanked this post: Marco1971

Offline The Soulman

  • Frequent Contributor
  • **
  • Posts: 949
  • Country: nl
  • The sky is the limit!
Re: Program that can log from many multimeters.
« Reply #688 on: June 06, 2020, 10:31:15 am »
The serial data description starts on page 29.
https://www.ic-fortune.com/upload/Download/FS9922-DMM3-DS-11_EN.pdf
 

Offline HKJTopic starter

  • Super Contributor
  • ***
  • Posts: 2904
  • Country: dk
    • Tests
Re: Program that can log from many multimeters.
« Reply #689 on: June 06, 2020, 11:44:24 am »
If you want I could test your code.

I do not know if that will work, but lets try:

Replace you current .jar file with this one:
http://lygte-info.dk/pic/Projects/TestController/TestController.jar


Add these lines to the top of "SimpleDMM.txt":
#metadef
#idString UNI-T,UT61B,
#name UNI-T UT61B
#handle UT61B
#subDriver 5
#baudrate 2400N81Dr

Connect UT61B to PC and enable computer connection.
Start test controller, preferable in debug mode.
Clear log window, select UT61B as only loaded device, specify serial port and press reconnect.

I hope it will recognize the meter and work in some ranges.
« Last Edit: June 06, 2020, 12:06:47 pm by HKJ »
 
The following users thanked this post: The Soulman, Marco1971

Offline The Soulman

  • Frequent Contributor
  • **
  • Posts: 949
  • Country: nl
  • The sky is the limit!
Re: Program that can log from many multimeters.
« Reply #690 on: June 06, 2020, 12:15:41 pm »
If you want I could test your code.

I do not know if that will work, but lets try:

Replace you current .jar file with this one:
http://lygte-info.dk/pic/Projects/TestController/TestController.jar


Add these lines to the top of "SimpleDMM.txt":
#metadef
#idString UNI-T,UT61B,
#name UNI-T UT61B
#handle UT61B
#subDriver 5
#baudrate 2400N81Dr

Connect UT61B to PC and enable computer connection.
Start test controller, preferable in debug mode.
Clear log window, select UT61B as only loaded device, specify serial port and press reconnect.

I hope it will recognize the meter and work in some ranges.

I feel dumb, were can I find SimpleDMM.txt ?
 

Offline HKJTopic starter

  • Super Contributor
  • ***
  • Posts: 2904
  • Country: dk
    • Tests
Re: Program that can log from many multimeters.
« Reply #691 on: June 06, 2020, 12:21:49 pm »
I feel dumb, were can I find SimpleDMM.txt ?

In the "Devices" subdir, there is files for all supported devices in that directory (Many files defines multiple devices).
« Last Edit: June 06, 2020, 01:54:12 pm by HKJ »
 
The following users thanked this post: The Soulman

Offline Marco1971

  • Contributor
  • Posts: 29
  • Country: it
Re: Program that can log from many multimeters.
« Reply #692 on: June 06, 2020, 12:37:56 pm »
Following above instructions, in capacitance meter mode i get...displayed "09.29 nF"

Marco
 
The following users thanked this post: The Soulman

Offline The Soulman

  • Frequent Contributor
  • **
  • Posts: 949
  • Country: nl
  • The sky is the limit!
Re: Program that can log from many multimeters.
« Reply #693 on: June 06, 2020, 12:51:54 pm »
I feel dumb, were can I find SimpleDMM.txt ?

In the "Devices" subdir, there is files for all supported devices in that directory (May files defines multiple devices).

Here: TestController.jar\dk\hkj\devices  I have a whole bunch of .class files, no .txt
btw, I've opened the .jar with winrar because that is what I have.  :-//
 

Offline HKJTopic starter

  • Super Contributor
  • ***
  • Posts: 2904
  • Country: dk
    • Tests
Re: Program that can log from many multimeters.
« Reply #694 on: June 06, 2020, 12:59:36 pm »
Here: TestController.jar\dk\hkj\devices  I have a whole bunch of .class files, no .txt
btw, I've opened the .jar with winrar because that is what I have.  :-//

It is not inside the .jar file, you must use the jar file together with a full download of TestController.
 
The following users thanked this post: The Soulman, Marco1971

Offline HKJTopic starter

  • Super Contributor
  • ***
  • Posts: 2904
  • Country: dk
    • Tests
Re: Program that can log from many multimeters.
« Reply #695 on: June 06, 2020, 01:45:39 pm »
I have tried to fix the problem Marco1971 saw. There is a new version (0.79)  at the above link.
 
The following users thanked this post: Marco1971

Offline The Soulman

  • Frequent Contributor
  • **
  • Posts: 949
  • Country: nl
  • The sky is the limit!
Re: Program that can log from many multimeters.
« Reply #696 on: June 06, 2020, 02:22:05 pm »
I have tried to fix the problem Marco1971 saw. There is a new version (0.79)  at the above link.

Both versions are working with my hacked Ohmeron mt488e (fs9922dmm3).  :-+
Some functions/ranges need some work.
Do I need to report them all or are you still writing to complete the code?
 

Offline Marco1971

  • Contributor
  • Posts: 29
  • Country: it
Re: Program that can log from many multimeters.
« Reply #697 on: June 06, 2020, 02:23:17 pm »
With new 0.79 file all ranges are correctly displayed, excluding temperature in °C/°F and all current ranges (a.c and d.c).
Displayed -4.4 °C versus actually 24 ambient temperature in °C.



Marco
« Last Edit: June 06, 2020, 02:30:23 pm by Marco1971 »
 

Offline HKJTopic starter

  • Super Contributor
  • ***
  • Posts: 2904
  • Country: dk
    • Tests
Re: Program that can log from many multimeters.
« Reply #698 on: June 06, 2020, 02:36:22 pm »
Both versions are working with my hacked Ohmeron mt488e (fs9922dmm3).  :-+
Some functions/ranges need some work.a
Do I need to report them all or are you still writing to complete the code?

With new 0.79 file all ranges are correctly displayed, excluding temperature in °C/°F and all current ranges (a.c and d.c).

Please explain exactly what is wrong. Generally I convert °F readings to °C reading in TestController, you can add a math column with °F if you want.
What must be checked is that the correct column name is used and that the decimal point is correct.
I am also missing some overload handling, if I have guessed correctly it will be fixed in the next version.
 

Offline HKJTopic starter

  • Super Contributor
  • ***
  • Posts: 2904
  • Country: dk
    • Tests
Re: Program that can log from many multimeters.
« Reply #699 on: June 06, 2020, 02:38:30 pm »
Displayed -4.4 °C versus actually 24 ambient temperature in °C.

That one was a easy fix, both F & C checked for C and the F to C conversion was activated.
 
The following users thanked this post: Marco1971


Share me

Digg  Facebook  SlashDot  Delicious  Technorati  Twitter  Google  Yahoo
Smf