Author Topic: Buck converrter output voltage spikes????  (Read 1542 times)

Offline satyamfifaTopic starter

• Regular Contributor
Buck converrter output voltage spikes????
« on: January 01, 2023, 11:08:25 pm »
Hey All,

I am new to implementing buck converter in a design. I recently used AP63356 in a design with the following specification:

Vin = 6V - 30V
Vout = 5.4V
Fsw 450 kHz

While testing the design I noticed the output voltage spikes of as high as 10V for a duration of 20-30 microseconds or so. This only seems to happen when there is sudden interruption of power to the buck converter for a short period.

1678525-0

I am concerned that this could potentially damage the devices such as a microcontroller with absolute maximum voltage of 6V. I implemented this design by studying the typical application examples in the datasheet which does not show a need to add additional protection at the output.

Schematic:

* AP63356-AP63357.pdf (1659.52 kB - downloaded 49 times.)

I would love to know from those who are more experienced in buck converter design how big of the problem this is and what are the general design guidelines to mitigate suck output voltage spikes. As far asn the PCB layout is concerned I am aware that everything in the buck converter circuit should have as low imedance as possible.

Component placement:

1678555-2

Layout:

1678579-31678585-4

https://ibb.co/3kmVN64
https://ibb.co/89DZ33f
https://ibb.co/JKv7YCR
https://ibb.co/wSdmTrP

Measurement and Wiring: (Oscilloscope TDS3014 probe: PP215 200MHz)

https://ibb.co/m88G9Ln

* IMG_20230101_225625_hdr.jpg (2049.52 kB. 4608x2592 - viewed 126 times.)

Update:

The spike only appears when measuring in 10 x mode, and does not seem to apprear at all in 1x mode, so I am starting to think this might be measurement issue.

Thanks,
Kind Regards,
Sparsh
« Last Edit: January 02, 2023, 03:41:34 am by satyamfifa »

Online T3sl4co1l

• Super Contributor
  • Expert, Analog Electronics, PCB Layout, EMC