Author Topic: FPGA selection help for 32/16/8-bit CPU cores  (Read 3982 times)

Offline MIRKOSOFTTopic starter

FPGA selection help for 32/16/8-bit CPU cores
« on: November 06, 2019, 02:08:53 am »
Hello!

I'm newbie here and in FPGA and VHDL/Verilog beginner.
I want to ask for help in FPGA selection for my project.
Project: External CPU Soft-Core for 8-bit computer (Commodore 128)
Features:
8-bit x65 6502 core with address space 64K
8-bit x65 6509 core with address space 1 MB
8-bit x65 65c02 core with address space 64K
16-bit 65k 65c816 with address space 16 MB
32-bit 65k 65832 with direct address space 16 MB able to access 4 GB
8-bit x80 Z80 core with 24-bit addressing (16 MB)
32-bit x80 Z380 core with address space 4 GB
8-bit x65 65CE02 or GS4502 core with 28-bit addressing able to access 2,5 GB
They're 8 cores mostly from x65 family and computer is running with 8-bit MOS 8502 x65 CPU with 16-bit addressing accessing 128K RAM by MMU and 8-bit Zilog Z80 x80 CPU with 16-bit addressing accessing 64K RAM. FPGA I want to make as extension cartridge with soft-cores switching with ability to save/restore computer and soft-core RAM at power-on/off.

Dream is NEC uPD9002 V50 Z80/8086 Hybrid CPU compatible with both Z80 and x86 families but here I'm lost 'cause it is near impossible to find any detailed datasheet in English or German language, so dream I can only name dream. Working CPU is possible to get, but ability to create FPGA core is near impossible (for now).

What FPGA board needs:
44-pin IO
flash memroy and/or eMMC storage
RTC
Ethernet
separate story is RAM:
I want to leave for each core separate RAM space with possible backup - what de facto looks like 13 GB - but it looks only.
Real access is 16 MB, saving its content per core is 128 MB, so it is enough.
But if is possible to get FPGA with possible extension by RAM modules it will be great with possibility to use it also like RAM disk.
Why talking about 128 MB instead 2 GB or more?