Author Topic: 'Affordable' Reference Standards to Have On-Hand in a Electronics Lab  (Read 10519 times)

Online fmashockieTopic starter

• Frequent Contributor
Hello All! This is my first time posting in the metrology forum.  I apologize if this should belong in the 'Beginners' forum.  But anyway, I guess I have a 2 part question:

1)  I found an old Analogic AN3100 DC calibrator on eBay for cheap.  I figured it could be useful as a precision DC source for calibrating my benchtop meters and power analyzer.  But considering it has not been calibrated in a long time, it will likely require calibration to be of any use.  I attached a screengrab from the manual of needed reference materials.  Haven't been able to find much info on them.  Does anyone know of any alternatives I could look for that might be readily available?

2) In general, I've been looking for precision reference standards for voltage (AC and DC) and resistance.  But everything is very expensive! Is there anything out there that is accurate, but relatively affordable that I could look for to have on-hand in my repair lab?  I'd be interested in DIY kits/solutions as well!

Thanks in advance!!

Online Nanitamuscen

• Contributor
Re: 'Affordable' Reference Standards to Have On-Hand in a Electronics Lab
« Reply #1 on: September 10, 2023, 05:00:40 pm »
Think about what class of accuracy you need a source. There will be further advice from this.
And what budget do you have for it.

• Frequent Contributor
« Reply #2 on: September 10, 2023, 05:27:52 pm »
Think about what class of accuracy you need a source. There will be further advice from this.
And what budget do you have for it.