Author Topic: Help a beginner get started with mcu's  (Read 3429 times)

Offline avogadroTopic starter

• Contributor
Help a beginner get started with mcu's
« on: July 12, 2018, 01:40:13 pm »
Hello,

I want to learn how mcu's work and eventually be able to build a board and program the mcu on it. I have played around with arduino but I feel like I'm not really learning. Anyway I was looking around the web about embedded but I'm just getting more confused. They are millions of different chips to start playing with. There are people suggesting that I first get a book about computer architecture, operating systems, kernels etc. Others are suggesting various different discovery or eval boards... Some say just pick up a datasheet on the mcu and start figuring things out...

So what would be the best place to start with? I'm not a complete beginner tho, I know the basics of c and pretty much what you learn in first year EE.

Offline ljwinkler

• Supporter
    • LJ Winkler's blog
Re: Help a beginner get started with mcu's
« Reply #1 on: July 12, 2018, 02:29:04 pm »
Hi avogadro,

The best way to learn stuff it to set a reasonable goal, even a blinky LED could be a project for start.
Define what would you like to achieve? There are tens of approaches to the same problem.
You could pick an Arduino to make a simple clock/thermometer on a 16x2 LCD or adapt ARM to capture images from a camera.
Arduino (or rather the entire AVR family) is quite rich in the matter of features, you have serial, I2C, SPI, ADC, EEPROM already built in.
Other micros could be PICs, STMs, MSPs.
One can be better than other in a specific application, do you need lower power consumption or high processing power? Do you need only 2 I/Os or tens of them?

Find a project on instructables, follow the steps, then break something and try to figure it out why it is not working.
Debugging is the best way to learn.
Try to modify the project by adding additional functionality, components.