Author Topic: Help With PCB Design  (Read 4134 times)

Offline zhodg77Topic starter

Help With PCB Design
« on: February 05, 2017, 07:21:33 am »
Hello,

New to PCB design and manufacture. I am a hobbyist I make replica race car steering wheels and would like to have a custom PCB to mount hardware to.

I will be using a seperate controller board so all the custom PCB needs to be is just a breakout board from the controller. The controller board is a Leo Bodnar BU0836A-NC 12-Bit board.
http://www.leobodnar.com/shop/index.php?main_page=product_info&cPath=94&products_id=219

Basically I just want to recreate this board made by Cube Controls, but to my own shape.

These are my renderings of the steering wheels that I make.

This is the shape that I would like the board to be. The Cube Controls breakout board has a IC, possibly for the extra bits that are on there I'm not sure why exactly. But all I am looking for on this board is to be a breakout board with surface mount momentary pushbuttons, pins to mount 3 rotary encoders and pins for two shifter paddles that use a regular momentary switch.

The outline of the board is just a really quick snapshot of the shape, I can get a more accurate file of it in .dxf

I'm looking for advice or help on how I can get it designed to get the gerber files to have one of the custom PCB shops make them. It'll be pretty low volume probably starting out with a run of 10 boards.

I've watched a number of EEVblog's on this topic, but still don't have a concrete direction with help on how to get it designed.

I'm not an EE and don't know how to use PCB design software, I could learn it, but for the sake of time/cost opportunity I feel it may be more optimal to just hire it out.

Thank you!

Zach

Offline Milentije

• Contributor
Re: Help With PCB Design
« Reply #1 on: February 05, 2017, 10:24:12 am »