Author Topic: Looking for equipment to solve a problem  (Read 1258 times)

Offline jerystTopic starter

Looking for equipment to solve a problem
« on: April 26, 2017, 03:19:04 pm »
Hi. My name is Jerry, and I am new to the site.
I have a question about off-the-shelf thermal imaging hardware (camera, meter, etc)
in regards to a problem I am tasked with solving.  I have no training or experience in
thermal imaging and am looking at this as one of several potential means of devising a solution..

I am sorry that I can not give specifics, but I can
offer enough information to provide a proper scenario.

Let us imagine that something is buried underground,  and that above this object,
there is a one degree temperature difference from the ground not directly over the
object.

My question is this: Is there any currently availabe equipment that is sensitive enough to
detect the one degree difference, or has adjustable sensitivity that could be adjusted to
detect that small of a difference? The ideal situation, would be that the area above the object would
stand out from the surrounding area.

I have been trying to look at different equipment and have been unable to determine
which could be used. Perhaps, because of my lack of experience, I am just overlooking
a specification or rating that provides this information, so any insight would be greatly
appreciated.

Offline Jono427

• Contributor
Re: Looking for equipment to solve a problem
« Reply #1 on: April 26, 2017, 03:32:26 pm »
You might want to try looking in this section:

https://www.eevblog.com/forum/thermal-imaging/

Online CatalinaWOW

• Super Contributor
Re: Looking for equipment to solve a problem
« Reply #2 on: April 26, 2017, 03:39:51 pm »