Author Topic: RC Time Constant  (Read 1954 times)

Offline John0922Topic starter

• Contributor
RC Time Constant
« on: May 21, 2015, 12:45:18 am »
Hi- I'm new to electronics, so please forgive what might be a very basic question. I came across a circuit that I built that allows a 10 micro-farad capacitor to charge to 5 volts through a 1K resistor with the press of a button (fed with dc), then it slowly discharges through a 6 meg resistor. It takes about a minute to discharge and works fine.

I thought if I fed the same circuit with a 5 volt square wave from a function generator at about 1 hz it would charge the capacitor and the capacitor would not discharge at all, because it was constantly being "topped off." Instead, it does discharge on the downstroke of the square wave. I thought this might be caused by the current changing direction, so I put in a DC offset to make it never go below zero volts, but got the same result.

From this I gather that the downstroke of the square wave is different from simply disconnecting a DC source. Could someone explain?

Thanks in advance,

John

Offline c4757p

• Super Contributor
  • adieu
Re: RC Time Constant
« Reply #1 on: May 21, 2015, 12:51:50 am »
From this I gather that the downstroke of the square wave is different from simply disconnecting a DC source. Could someone explain?

Yes, very much so. What you have to keep in mind is that voltage is a relative measurement - even if your DC offset keeps the square wave above "zero", it still goes below the voltage that the capacitor was at at the top of the square wave, so it's still negative with respect to that node.

In other words, current can absolutely flow into a positive source, it just has to come from a more positive source.
No longer active here - try the IRC channel if you just can't be without me :)

Offline rs20

• Super Contributor
« Reply #2 on: May 21, 2015, 01:09:21 am »