Author Topic: YiHUA 853D vs. Hakko 888D  (Read 7455 times)

Offline meastmanTopic starter

YiHUA 853D vs. Hakko 888D
« on: June 10, 2015, 05:37:48 pm »
Hello.  I'm a newbie that is just getting into electronics and looking for some advice on what soldering station to purchase.  Since this is my first post, here's a bit about my background.  By newbie, I mean that I understand ohm's law, can solder and have just started going through a DC electronics course that I found online.  I used to work for a company called HeathKit Electronics about 40 years ago.  HeathKit was a company that sold electronic kits like ham radios, test gear, stereos and computers.  I built quite a few of their kits, both for myself and many display models, but never really studied electronics.  Since then, I've worked in the computer industry (mostly software and management).  Back to the present, I'm looking to build up a small and affordable lab.  Initially, I will be focusing on experiments in line with my studies and attempting a few repairs.  My main interest is in audio gear (e.g., crossovers, amps, preamps, maybe even some tube stuff, etc.), but at some point I will want to try some microcrontroller stuff like the Uno. 

On to the question.  I need a new soldering station.  My current one is a thermostatically controller Weller, but you can't adjust the temp.  I've been looking at the YiHUA 853D and Hakko 888D.  I like the fact that the YiHUA includes a power supply and hot air gun since I don't have anything yet.  But, I am concerned about it's quality and safety.  Would the YiHUA be good enough to start with, or would I be better off starting with the Hakko?  Or for that matter, would the Weller be ok to use for a while?

A second question.  What gear does everyone recommend I start with?  So far, I only have an old Heathkit DMM.  I also have a scope coming this week (Tektronix 2445A) that I bought off eBay.

Thanks in advance for any assistance or opinions you might share,
Mark