Author Topic: Working from home - is it doable?  (Read 10488 times)

Offline monkeytennisTopic starter

Working from home - is it doable?
« on: May 03, 2016, 12:52:56 am »
Hi all,

I've always wanted to be able to work for myself (as have many people) either from my own home, or from my own lab/office (like Dave's).

It's something I'd like to aim to achieve as a 5-year plan, but I suppose the question is, is such a thing really viable to make a liveable income?  I know some people here are doing something similar so I thought I'd throw some questions out to pick your brains.

Just to give a bit of background to myself; I've worked in electronics all of my adult life, both as a technician and an engineer.  I've worked on reasonable-sized jobs designing and constructing high-power life-testing ATE, down to small microcontroller-based solutions.  Now I am currently a software engineer writing software to control ATE, chiefly in C++.

So I am reasonably confident I can produce end-product, but the question is what sort of jobs can a one-(or possibly two)-manned band reasonably expect to take on?

Would it be more realistic to bid for jobs from larger businesses, or to make and sell my own products and hope to find a market for them?  And further to that, how could a one-manned band expect to get commissions with no track record, unless I go back to my previous employers offering them my services?

Is it possible to make money from open source projects without a large start-up budget?

What skills are sought after?  Can they be competitive with the labour costs from developing countries such as India, for example?

Even though the place I work out outsources around 40% of their jobs, they are to large consultancy firms and are expected to work on a project for a number of years, rather than for smaller jobs.  This would likely mean working on-site, which means I might as well be a full time employee.