Author Topic: X-Ray Machine in USA (scenario)  (Read 2073 times)

Offline DysonDepplbomTopic starter

X-Ray Machine in USA (scenario)
« on: April 09, 2020, 11:51:30 am »
I have really struggled to find concrete information regarding the owning of an x-ray machine as a hobbyist. I am no lawyer and all information is just theoretical from the mindset of a curious hobbyist.

Let me paint a theoretical scenario here...

A hobbyist gets recommended videos on building x-ray machines due to the youtube algorithm. The hobbyist is now interested in getting an x-ray machine due to the simplicity and beneficial uses of the project.

He/She then finds cheap complete x-ray machines are on eBay.  He/she orders either a complete system or parts to build working system. There is no thought into the legality of doing so at this point.

About a month or so later the hobbyist gets confused on why used and working scientific equipment is so cheap. Literally a $100,000 dollar piece of equipment to a few hundred bucks in a few years is reasonable.

After researching he/she finds that there are state and FDA regulations. Those regulations seem to contradict each other, and they don’t make sense. A quick google search says that the selling of used medical devices is a “grey market” . That appears to mean it’s perfectly legal as long as you jump through loopholes in the system.

I'm no lawyer but does this seem accurate?
1.) You can buy anything legally (MIR, X-ray or any Class-III medical device) for SCRAP or PARTS.
2.) The FDA controls any radiation producing device. (that doesn’t make sense, cathode tubes anyone?)
3.) Some states say any non-medical x-ray device can be operated 50 days per calendar year. So, if someone owns 10 x-ray machines they can operate at 365 days a year. That's weird.