Author Topic: vhdl - how to use memory bits for data storage?  (Read 5697 times)

Offline aussie_laser_dudeTopic starter

• Contributor
vhdl - how to use memory bits for data storage?
« on: April 23, 2020, 12:02:11 am »
Hi Guys :)
Total FPGA noob here.

I've written the program and it used ~4000 LUT's and 0 memory bits to store image data.

How do I store data to the memory bits? I've attached a screenshot to show the compilation report and another image showing my data storing code.
   To explain in more detail, I would like to store an integer array or logical vector array in memory and then read/write to those memory bits, this is for a cyclone IV altera fpga. I'm using Quartus II to write vhdl code to display a 2D matrix of data to a monitor through a VGA cable.

Thanks for any help
« Last Edit: April 23, 2020, 12:04:23 am by aussie_laser_dude »

Offline oPossum

• Super Contributor
  • Very dangerous - may attack at any time
Re: vhdl - how to use memory bits for data storage?
« Reply #1 on: April 23, 2020, 12:25:28 am »
Make sure all access to the array is clocked. You won't get inferred RAM without a clock (in my experience). Also check the build log for hints why RAM was not inferred.

The following users thanked this post: aussie_laser_dude

Offline SiliconWizard

• Super Contributor
« Reply #2 on: April 23, 2020, 12:39:59 am »
Yup. You may also want to check that you're not accessing more than two items at the same time - basically anything more than a dual-port memory has a high probability of not being inferred as block RAM.
Maybe show us the part of your code which accesses this array.

• Contributor
« Reply #3 on: April 23, 2020, 01:07:21 am »
Thanks for the posts guys, maybe I didn't explain my question too well.

I am a complete beginner who has absolutely no idea on how to read or write any of those 608,526 bits. Does anyone have a working example of how to do it?

cheers

Offline Daixiwen

• Frequent Contributor